The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 20, 2001, 01:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 85
I understand what a muff is and I think that B's control of the ball continues to be a muff until he contacts the ground with that control where he has possession of the ball and it then becomes a catch. You cannot have a change of possession on a forward pass without a catch, and therefore, in the first situation, A is still in TEAM possession when A & B jointly catch the ball. A's ball.

What happens when B jumps up to catch the ball and momentarily controls the ball, but before he hits the ground he is hit by A and drops the ball? It is an incomplete pass, not a fumble. B never caught the ball.

In the same fashion, this is why #2 is an incomplete pass.


What if in #1 B threw the ball forward, whould you have an illegal forward pass, too? I don't think so. Not unless B threw it after he made contact with the ground in bounds.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1