View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 20, 2001, 09:01am
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
I hoonestly believe you fellas are making this too difficult. The rule that I quoted above covers this play completely.

In a) for the play to be considered a catch, B must being contacted by A in such a way that he is prevented from returning to the ground inbounds while maintaining possession of the ball. You simply have to determine whether or not B would have legally caught the ball if he hadn't muffed it to his teammate. In b), it's nothing more than an incomplete pass, whether it goes forward or backwards. Inbounds or OOB doesn't matter because the pass hits the ground.

__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote