The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 13, 2006, 02:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChickenOfNC
Granted, I did not see this play, but trustworthy observers of this game have explained it to me.

They said that Chris Leak was flagged for intentional grounding at the 39 yard line. The R announced the foul, and that it was 5 yards from the spot and LOD. Florida next snapped the ball from the 39 yard line.

Did the crew botch this? Did anyone see this play?
Did not see the play. However, I'm pretty sure that in NCAA and the NFL intentional grounding does not include any yardage markoff. They simply just mark the ball at the spot and include a LOD.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 13, 2006, 02:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 225
Kinda thought that might be the case. I only know fed rules, so wasn't sure.

If anyone else can confirm, would appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 13, 2006, 02:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 945
I believe I remember it being announced that the penalty was to place the ball at the spot of the foul and have a loss-of-down. I never heard them say that there was a 5-yard penalty.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 13, 2006, 02:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
The penalty is a LOD at the spot of the foul.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 13, 2006, 03:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
While IG is an illegal forward pass, it's penalized differently and because it does not include any yardage mark-off.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 13, 2006, 03:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 131
If the ball was grounded to save time, 5 yards from foul spot and loss of down. 7-3-2-d
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 13, 2006, 07:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by insatty
If the ball was grounded to save time, 5 yards from foul spot and loss of down. 7-3-2-d
True, but that specific foul is called an Illegal Forward pass (s35) not Intentional Grounding (s36).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auburn/Florida Game GoodwillRef Football 20 Wed Oct 18, 2006 02:21pm
Your commitment to the game, HS and NCAA BigJWalt Football 12 Fri Jun 02, 2006 09:24am
NCAA rule question; forfeit game grimli Football 5 Tue May 16, 2006 10:57pm
rules question about an old NCAA game Mark Padgett Basketball 6 Wed Mar 31, 2004 06:59pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1