The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   NCAA question Re: USC/Florida game (https://forum.officiating.com/football/29434-ncaa-question-re-usc-florida-game.html)

ChickenOfNC Mon Nov 13, 2006 02:04pm

NCAA question Re: USC/Florida game
 
Granted, I did not see this play, but trustworthy observers of this game have explained it to me.

They said that Chris Leak was flagged for intentional grounding at the 39 yard line. The R announced the foul, and that it was 5 yards from the spot and LOD. Florida next snapped the ball from the 39 yard line.

Did the crew botch this? Did anyone see this play?

SouthGARef Mon Nov 13, 2006 02:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChickenOfNC
Granted, I did not see this play, but trustworthy observers of this game have explained it to me.

They said that Chris Leak was flagged for intentional grounding at the 39 yard line. The R announced the foul, and that it was 5 yards from the spot and LOD. Florida next snapped the ball from the 39 yard line.

Did the crew botch this? Did anyone see this play?

Did not see the play. However, I'm pretty sure that in NCAA and the NFL intentional grounding does not include any yardage markoff. They simply just mark the ball at the spot and include a LOD.

ChickenOfNC Mon Nov 13, 2006 02:15pm

Kinda thought that might be the case. I only know fed rules, so wasn't sure.

If anyone else can confirm, would appreciate it.

Warrenkicker Mon Nov 13, 2006 02:18pm

I believe I remember it being announced that the penalty was to place the ball at the spot of the foul and have a loss-of-down. I never heard them say that there was a 5-yard penalty.

Texas Aggie Mon Nov 13, 2006 02:29pm

The penalty is a LOD at the spot of the foul.

Theisey Mon Nov 13, 2006 03:11pm

While IG is an illegal forward pass, it's penalized differently and because it does not include any yardage mark-off.

insatty Mon Nov 13, 2006 03:30pm

If the ball was grounded to save time, 5 yards from foul spot and loss of down. 7-3-2-d

Theisey Mon Nov 13, 2006 07:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by insatty
If the ball was grounded to save time, 5 yards from foul spot and loss of down. 7-3-2-d

True, but that specific foul is called an Illegal Forward pass (s35) not Intentional Grounding (s36).

insatty Mon Nov 13, 2006 07:38pm

Theisey: You are correct, Sir! As always. Keep up the good work. (That's why I'm not ready yet to be a white hat.)

Theisey Mon Nov 13, 2006 08:00pm

It does make you wonder why they aren't all the same, after all they are lumped under the Illegal forward pass section.

TXMike Mon Nov 13, 2006 08:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChickenOfNC
Granted, I did not see this play, but trustworthy observers of this game have explained it to me.

They said that Chris Leak was flagged for intentional grounding at the 39 yard line. The R announced the foul, and that it was 5 yards from the spot and LOD. Florida next snapped the ball from the 39 yard line.

Did the crew botch this? Did anyone see this play?

Your "trustworthy observers" did not observe so well. It was not Leak who threw the pass, it was WR Andre Caldwell who was supposed tothrow the pass back to Leak. An official onanother board advised he looked at the video and the pass was thrown from the 29 (previous spot was 13). He confirmed the R announced it was a 5 yard penalty from spot of foul and loss of down however they actually just enforced loss of down at spot of pass (29) From the box score:


F 1-10 S13 [shotgun/1 back], Caldwell, A. pass incomplete, PENALTY UF
intentional grounding (Caldwell, A.) 16 yards to the SC29, NO PLAY.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1