The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 13, 2006, 09:50am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,515
Question NO/Pitt bad snap touchdown

I'm pretty sure in the NFL that if the QB receives the snap directly from under center that he cannot become an eligible receiver. Just out of curiosity, is there rule that states if the QB is directly under center that the ball cannot be snapped to someone else.

I.E: In the Saints/Steelers situation would it have been illegal if the center had intentionally snapped the ball through Brees' legs and directly to Macallister?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 13, 2006, 01:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 945
I just loved Brees' comment about it being an accident. Then they showed the replay and showed him standing up like he had the ball looking toward the right like he was looking for a receiver while McAllister ran the ball to the left. You know Drew, if you are going to lie about what happened out there at least make it something believable. It seems they are trying to cover something up there.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 13, 2006, 03:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 415
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
I'm pretty sure in the NFL that if the QB receives the snap directly from under center that he cannot become an eligible receiver. Just out of curiosity, is there rule that states if the QB is directly under center that the ball cannot be snapped to someone else.

I.E: In the Saints/Steelers situation would it have been illegal if the center had intentionally snapped the ball through Brees' legs and directly to Macallister?
I know there is a rule in the NFL that, if the QB is in position to receive a direct snap, that the snap must go directly to him and it would be illegal to snap it through his legs to another back. This play would be legal in NF.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 13, 2006, 03:25pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim D
I know there is a rule in the NFL that, if the QB is in position to receive a direct snap, that the snap must go directly to him and it would be illegal to snap it through his legs to another back. This play would be legal in NF.
--And in flag football.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Article about the Pitt-Bradley game The New Guy Basketball 7 Mon Mar 20, 2006 12:47pm
touchdown or not rgraham Football 2 Tue Nov 15, 2005 02:53pm
DPI on Touchdown jrfath Football 1 Mon Nov 15, 2004 09:06am
First down/Touchdown TriggerMN Football 7 Fri Sep 19, 2003 12:57pm
Why is this not a touchdown? Joel_5 Football 8 Thu Sep 13, 2001 08:51pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1