The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2006, 09:25pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Just watched the videos and here is my take.

No foul in play 1. He is engaged at 2 yards and his forward momentum takes him to 2.5 yards after the D-lineman gets by him. This is why it is critical to see the whole play. We have a the same problem when we work 3-man for MS games in that the U has to drop back when there is a pass instead of stepping up to the LOS.

No foul in play #2. It looks to me as if although the blocker puts his head down, the initial contact is above the waist and then he slides down. This is a 15 yard penalty and you had better be sure if you are going to call it.
Remember, the "when in doubt" guideline for "block above or below the waist" is "above the waist."
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 12, 2006, 11:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJT
.... This is a 15 yard penalty and you had better be sure if you are going to call it.
Remember, the "when in doubt" guideline for "block above or below the waist" is "above the waist."
Agree you have to see the whole thing. And of course you only get one shot at it. (unless of course your brain has a replay option for a couple of milliseconds )

Actually the when in doubt for a block below the waist is that it "is below the waist". (source below)
I had some doubts on this play, reviewed the play twice but stayed with my original call that it was below the waist.

The Redding book for NFHS lists many more WID statements than the NCAA formally does, but in both cases they are the same for this block.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 12, 2006, 11:20am
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
I wonder where I had it is "above" IIDoubt? I had it in some of my notes. I have Redding, but didn't look in it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 12, 2006, 11:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

MJT & Theisy,

From the 2004 and 2005 NFHS Football Officials Manual, p.84:

Guides For - When In Question
...
  • Block above or below the waist...............................above

Pardon my ignorance, but what is "The Redding book"?

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 12, 2006, 12:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 126
Send a message via AIM to FootballRef05
Where the cnfusion may be coming from is with regard to blocking in the back. The reul book stated "when the contact is ruled to be from behind, and the official has question as to the initial point of contact, it shall be ruled clipping".
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 12, 2006, 12:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachJM
MT & Theisy,

From the 2004 and 2005 NF HS Football Officials Manual, p.84:

Guides For - When In Question
...
  • Block above or below the waist...............................above

Pardon my ignorance, but what is "The Redding book"?

JM
Coach... it's TheisEy...

Redding guide is a study guide published for both NCAA and NFHS football rules. It is not a rule book. While the authors says it is not a teaching manual, one can learn a lot from the detailed discussion and case plays they give to many of the rules. Not sure when the NFHS book was first published, maybe 2000, but the NCAA version has been around since at least 1993.

Well, there is apparently a conflict between the Officials manual and the Redding guide. One would say you have to believe the NF publication. I don't. Because this is one of those "safety" type fouls and normally is not permitted in the NF rules, I go with the NCAA version and this guide which as stated says when in doubt the contact is below the waist.

So MJT, you are not really wrong if your source was the officials manual.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 12, 2006, 02:25pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theisey
Coach... it's TheisEy...



So MJT, you are not really wrong if your source was the officials manual.
I figured I typed it up from somewhere.

Since in college ball, if it was a BBW, it would be legal, I'd say it is less a safety issue than a clip where the codes line up in a downfield clip being illegal.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 12, 2006, 02:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
There are many times when a BBW is illegal (NCAA) such as after any change of team possession, during a kick down, during a scrimmage down and you did it do an eligible receiver, a team-A player in position to receive backwards pass behind the NZ, team-A players 7 yards outside the middle lineman blocking towards the original position of the bali up to 10 yards beyond the NZ, same goes for backs.

When in doubt there, it is below the waist.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 Plays UmpJM Football 23 Tue Oct 03, 2006 08:24am
Does any one know who he plays for ? kade Rugby 0 Wed Jul 12, 2006 07:36pm
Kick plays James Neil Football 4 Tue Feb 17, 2004 05:03pm
OOB Plays egausch Basketball 2 Tue Feb 19, 2002 10:22am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1