The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 07, 2006, 06:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 522
I second what has already been said...he is eligible since he is not in there under the numbering exception since we already have 5 "ineligible" numbers. We went all over this in our chapter a year or two ago before finally deciding on, what I felt, was the right interpretation (that 81 IS eligible)
__________________
If the play is designed to fool someone, make sure you aren't the fool.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 07, 2006, 07:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 321
The rule reference is 7-2-5b Exception (paraprhased): A player under this exception (taking the place of a 50-79 player) remains ineligible.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 08, 2006, 07:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Mullica Hill, NJ
Posts: 798
OK. Let me add a twist to this. And, this is where I believe my LJ and U may be correct in their ruling, albeit for the wrong reasons.

What if the play were a try (which where you see a muddle huddle 99% of the time)?

The down starts on the try when the RFP is given, NOT when the ball is snapped. It's also a rule that when a down starts all ineligible players at the start of the down remain ineligible throughout the down.

So, if a player is lined up between the ends when the RFP is given, then shifts and is then ultimately on the end of the line, he's then still ineligible but not because of the numbering exception. He was ineligible at the start of the down.

Again, agree or disagree?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 08, 2006, 08:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
By definition, a down starts with the snap or when the ball is kick to start a free kick.

The basic issue is the numbering exception. Is there one or isn't there one at the time team-A lines up in a scrimmage kick formation.

With a numbering exception in affect any "eligible" numbered player who has replaced an "ineligible" numbered player and is initially positioned between the players on the end become ineligible from that point even if a shift effectively puts him on the end of the line.

NF treats a shift to put this guy in an eligible position kinder than the NCAA does. By that I mean all you have is a guy who is still an ineligible receiver.
The NCAA also calls this an illegal formation at the snap. That's why you rarely see this as a problem at the NCAA level.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 08, 2006, 08:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Mullica Hill, NJ
Posts: 798
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theisey
By definition, a down starts with the snap or when the ball is kick to start a free kick.
I agree, but take a look at 8-3-2. That's where I was going with my new "twist" thinking a TRY started different than a regular down, which is when the ball is snapped as you stated.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 08, 2006, 09:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
I really don't know what the NF is trying to point out with that statement.

So I decided to see how the NCAA defined the TRY.
A try is an opportunity for either team to score one or two poitns while the game clock is stopped and is a special interval in a game which, for purposes of penalty enforcement only, includes both a down and the "ready" period that precedes it.

(I underlined that part)

At least they say a TRY includes the time before the snap and after the snap.

Later they say that dead-ball fouls occuring after the ready-for-play and before the snap are penalized before the next snap.

A down is still the down and starts with the snap.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 08, 2006, 10:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
I agree with Tom.

Since a try is an untimed down, for penalty enforcement purposes, the try begins with the ready. The down itself does not begin until the ball is snapped.

There would be an exception to 2-37 if the PAT down began at the ready. But there is no exception.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
numbering ref13 Football 9 Wed Oct 12, 2005 12:44pm
Disagreement Dukat Softball 2 Sat Feb 07, 2004 01:39am
Civil disagreement CecilOne Softball 40 Mon Oct 20, 2003 08:17am
Disagreement with Ref Schultj Football 10 Mon Sep 08, 2003 07:15pm
Disagreement with partner! Dennis Nicely Basketball 3 Fri Dec 10, 1999 03:39pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1