The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 07, 2006, 01:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Mullica Hill, NJ
Posts: 798
Help: Disagreement on numbering exception

We had a disagreement in our preGame discussion this morning when talking about muddle huddles. I'm fairly confident I understand the numbering exception under rule 7 section 2. My LJ disagrees with me and an umpire who filled in on my crew today disagrees with me as well.

Here's the formation.

84....56....62....67....72....81.................. ....2 (center)
....35............................................ .........14 (holder)...............20
.................................................. ...........27 (kicker)

OK, the numbering exception is in effect becuase we're in scrimmage kick formation. #81 is taking place of a lineman numbered 50-79. He's assumed his position on the LOS between the ends (84 & 2) and if they shift out of this formation where 81 moves to the right of #2 and is on the end of the line, by rule he's still ineligible as per the numbering exception.

Hopefully we have "so far, so good" from everyone.


We agreed on this. Now, assume we have the following formation...

84....56....62....67....72....76.....81........... ..2 (center)
.................................................. ..........14 (holder)...............20
.................................................. ...........27 (kicker)

My LJ was saying that 81 is still ineligible if they ultimately shift and is on the end of the line to the right of #2 (same shift as before).

I say he's eligible becuase he's NOT taking the place of a lineman 50-79. His interp was he's taking place of the "guard" and I say the guard, center, and tackle (where ever he's lined up) has ABSOLUTELY POSITIVELY nothing to do with it.

My position is he's NOT taking the place of a lineman under that exception and that a shift would make #81 eligible.

Agree or disagree?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 07, 2006, 02:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Your LJ and U are wrong. There are 5 linemen numbered 50-79 on the field. There is no numbering exception.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 07, 2006, 04:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
with no numbering exception in affect as it is in your second formation, #81 is eligible after the shift.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 07, 2006, 06:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 522
I second what has already been said...he is eligible since he is not in there under the numbering exception since we already have 5 "ineligible" numbers. We went all over this in our chapter a year or two ago before finally deciding on, what I felt, was the right interpretation (that 81 IS eligible)
__________________
If the play is designed to fool someone, make sure you aren't the fool.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 07, 2006, 07:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 321
The rule reference is 7-2-5b Exception (paraprhased): A player under this exception (taking the place of a 50-79 player) remains ineligible.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 08, 2006, 07:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Mullica Hill, NJ
Posts: 798
OK. Let me add a twist to this. And, this is where I believe my LJ and U may be correct in their ruling, albeit for the wrong reasons.

What if the play were a try (which where you see a muddle huddle 99% of the time)?

The down starts on the try when the RFP is given, NOT when the ball is snapped. It's also a rule that when a down starts all ineligible players at the start of the down remain ineligible throughout the down.

So, if a player is lined up between the ends when the RFP is given, then shifts and is then ultimately on the end of the line, he's then still ineligible but not because of the numbering exception. He was ineligible at the start of the down.

Again, agree or disagree?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
numbering ref13 Football 9 Wed Oct 12, 2005 12:44pm
Disagreement Dukat Softball 2 Sat Feb 07, 2004 01:39am
Civil disagreement CecilOne Softball 40 Mon Oct 20, 2003 08:17am
Disagreement with Ref Schultj Football 10 Mon Sep 08, 2003 07:15pm
Disagreement with partner! Dennis Nicely Basketball 3 Fri Dec 10, 1999 03:39pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1