The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 28, 2006, 02:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Free Kick Line

Sit: K is line up to kick an onside kick from the 40. R touches the ball before it travels 10 yards. Is this a penalty ( illegal touching) on R for touching the ball before it travels 10 yards?

Fed Rules
__________________
truerookie

Last edited by truerookie; Thu Sep 28, 2006 at 02:15pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 28, 2006, 02:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

truerookie,

Once K has kicked the ball, any R player may touch/field the kick anywhere on the field of play and attempt to advance it.

On the other hand, if a K player is the first to touch the kick befoer it has reached R's free kick line (10 yds.) it is a "first touching" by K and, if R does not touch they will receive the ball at the spot of "first touching".

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 28, 2006, 02:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 618
Send a message via MSN to grantsrc
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
Sit: K is line up to kick an onside kick from the 40. R touches the ball before it travels 10 yards. Is this a penalty ( illegal touching) on R for touching the ball before it travels 10 yards?

Fed Rules
No foul, simply a violation. Bean bag spot of illegal touching, ball remains live.
__________________
Check out my football officials resource page at
http://resources.refstripes.com
If you have a file you would like me to add, email me and I will get it posted.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 28, 2006, 02:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: What K has done in this case is committed a "first touching" violation on a free kick--no different than if he was first to touch a scrimmage kick beyond the neutral zone.

This is deja vu. I believe I've posted this same response to about three similar threads in the past few days!
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 28, 2006, 03:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 415
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob M.
REPLY: What K has done in this case is committed a "first touching" violation on a free kick--no different than if he was first to touch a scrimmage kick beyond the neutral zone.

This is deja vu. I believe I've posted this same response to about three similar threads in the past few days!

Bob, It must be time for another article!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 28, 2006, 03:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheyenne, wyoming
Posts: 1,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob M.
REPLY: What K has done in this case is committed a "first touching" violation on a free kick--no different than if he was first to touch a scrimmage kick beyond the neutral zone.

This is deja vu. I believe I've posted this same response to about three similar threads in the past few days!
This topic has been around a time or two or at least one like it LOL but my take is that, what K has done is kicked the ball, what R has done is nothing wrong LOL re read the original post, don't know if it is a typo or not, but it is R that touches the ball...I sure hope he kept it and it didn't bounce off his chest to K where they would now be eligible to recover LOL
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 28, 2006, 04:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmathews
This topic has been around a time or two or at least one like it LOL but my take is that, what K has done is kicked the ball, what R has done is nothing wrong LOL re read the original post, don't know if it is a typo or not, but it is R that touches the ball...I sure hope he kept it and it didn't bounce off his chest to K where they would now be eligible to recover LOL
R recovered the ball the WH penalize R for 1st touching five yards. My line of thinking was that along as R recovered before it travel 10 yards no foul. WH did not agree.
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 28, 2006, 04:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim D
Bob, It must be time for another article!
REPLY: Actually...I just got an e-mail from the editor asking for exactly that!
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 28, 2006, 04:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
R recovered the ball the WH penalize R for 1st touching five yards. My line of thinking was that along as R recovered before it travel 10 yards no foul. WH did not agree.
Would not have mattered where team-R had recovered, there is no foul for doing so any place on the field.

Did any other officials come to the discussion?

Keep learning, maybe someday you can WH a game.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 28, 2006, 04:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmathews
This topic has been around a time or two or at least one like it LOL but my take is that, what K has done is kicked the ball, what R has done is nothing wrong LOL re read the original post, don't know if it is a typo or not, but it is R that touches the ball...I sure hope he kept it and it didn't bounce off his chest to K where they would now be eligible to recover LOL
REPLY: Mea culpa...I read the post incorrectly. Gotta get new glasses. Come to think of it, a coach said the same thing to me last Friday night!
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 28, 2006, 04:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,718
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
R recovered the ball the WH penalize R for 1st touching five yards. My line of thinking was that along as R recovered before it travel 10 yards no foul. WH did not agree.
That Ref should change his white hat for a dunce cap.

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 28, 2006, 05:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob M.
REPLY: Mea culpa...I read the post incorrectly. Gotta get new glasses. Come to think of it, a coach said the same thing to me last Friday night!
Bob, which is it you read it wrong or you need new glasses?
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
free kick yankeesfan Football 7 Sat Oct 15, 2005 12:20am
scrimmage kick behind line cad Football 9 Fri Sep 30, 2005 03:52am
Free kick line behind the goal line starman Football 9 Thu Dec 09, 2004 11:33pm
Free Kick nelson_28602 Football 2 Mon Oct 27, 2003 10:48pm
free kick cheese38 Football 1 Sun Oct 26, 2003 11:32am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1