![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I'm not a big stickler for the 9-yard marks rule unless Team A is deliberately trying to deceive (like a "hide-out" play) or if they're rushing to get to the line and are trying to get the play off before B can substitute or match up. Now I don't care if B doesn't have the time to match up--that's good discipline by A--as long as they do it legally.
In fact, I had my first 7-2-1 flag last Friday night. I was R and I counted 10 Team A players and as I was signaling my wings, I see that the coach figure out that they're missing a WR and he pushes him out onto the field (Team A was already in formation and about to snap the ball). He lines up about 4 yards from the sideline, gets set, and the ball is snapped and he runs out for a pass while the Team B safety was running like hell to go cover him before the snap. It was obvious that this was a screw-up and not deliberate deception, but it still clearly put B at a disadvantage. Of course I waited until the snap which gave the WR about 3-4 seconds to either adjust or go in motion to inside the 9-yard marks, but it didn't happen so the flag flew at the snap. Coach didn't argue--he knew. |
|
|||
|
I agree with your approach; however, this is not how we are being intructed to enforce the rule. We can either flag them when they don't come in or try to get them to come in. We can no longer just ignore the violation because no advantage is gained.
|
|
|||
|
I agree with ignoring it if there is no advantage gained (he's not trying to be deceive) however I don't necessarily agree with trying to get them in either. He was standing four feet in front of my LJ in my last example with the HC standing right behind him. Had my LJ told him to get inside the numbers, especially when the snap was imminent and caused the WR to either false start or go in motion/shift illegally, then it's our fault and the HC most likely would've been upset at us for telling his player what to do. Therefore, we do everything we can not to coach per se. In other words, the classic example is that our wings will point out the LOS and will tell the split end if he's on or off the line, but we will not tell him to "move up" or "move back". Because the second we do that and he tells the coach that we're telling him where to go (in his words) then we're responsible. Not to mention all of this is technically unfair to the other coach. As always, we just need to use common sense and err on the side of caution--both literally and what our perception might be to others--and we'll be fine.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Inside | Dukat | Softball | 6 | Mon Jun 26, 2006 02:39pm |
| Inside the fence | Diamondgal | Baseball | 22 | Tue Aug 02, 2005 03:45pm |
| Inside handoff | OFF Coord | Football | 6 | Tue Dec 07, 2004 07:33am |
| Inside Move to Second..... | kpbaseball17 | Baseball | 1 | Sat Apr 03, 2004 06:11pm |
| Mechanics - Inside/Outside? | WestMichBlue | Softball | 3 | Fri Aug 15, 2003 01:51pm |