The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 28, 2006, 08:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickref872
I watched and noticed what I think was a 3rd and 9. The crew has an offensive holding and a late hit on the WR attempting to catch a ball(incomplete pass) out of bounds. The mark off the 10 and then the 15 against B but left it 3rd and 4. Is this right in Fed ball? I would think should have been A 1st down.
That is the correct ruling. Personal fouls do not grant automatic first downs in NFHS unless they are roughing (kicker, holder, snapper, passer). Since the late hit is a dead-ball foul, it doesn't create a double (offsetting) foul. This is another example where it is especially important to actually step off both fouls, since you don't end up where you started.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Halted game vs. game over spots101 Softball 5 Tue May 02, 2006 09:27pm
Game Control and "keeping them in the game" IRISHMAFIA Softball 10 Wed Mar 22, 2006 09:38pm
30 Game Suspenion For Artest, and 20 game Suspenion For His 2 Teammates! Love2ref4Ever Basketball 8 Mon Nov 22, 2004 11:48am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1