The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 19, 2006, 08:23am
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Roamin' Umpire
Ah, see, while I agree that the NFHS wants fouls in these situations enforced from the 20 (and, for the record, blech!), with no foul on this play, I see no reason why B wouldn't take over at the B2. See NF 4-3-2.
I do not see how 4-3-2 says B would take over at the 2. Here it is.

4-3-2. When the out-of-bounds spot is between the goal lines, the ball shall be put in play at the inbounds spot unless a forward pass is involved. If the out-of-bounds spot is behind a goal line, it is a safety, field goal or touchback. If the ball touches a pylon, it is out of bounds behind the goal line.

The OOB's spot is betweeen the goal lines but why are you saying then that the IB's spot is the 2? Do you not agree that the final result is a TB in the play I am describing? The momemtum exception is only in effect "where the ball is declared dead in his team's possession or it goes out of bounds in the end zone, the ball belongs to B at the spot where the pass or fumble was intercepted or recovered or the kick was caught or recovered." That did not happen and that is why the momentum exception is not in place.
Going golfing! Check back in a couple of hours.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 19, 2006, 09:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJT
I do not see how 4-3-2 says B would take over at the 2. Here it is.

4-3-2. When the out-of-bounds spot is between the goal lines, the ball shall be put in play at the inbounds spot unless a forward pass is involved. If the out-of-bounds spot is behind a goal line, it is a safety, field goal or touchback. If the ball touches a pylon, it is out of bounds behind the goal line.
The sentence in bold makes it fairly clear to me.

Quote:
The OOB's spot is betweeen the goal lines but why are you saying then that the IB's spot is the 2? Do you not agree that the final result is a TB in the play I am describing?
I'm afraid you're correct - I don't agree.

Quote:
The momemtum exception is only in effect "where the ball is declared dead in his team's possession or it goes out of bounds in the end zone, the ball belongs to B at the spot where the pass or fumble was intercepted or recovered or the kick was caught or recovered." That did not happen and that is why the momentum exception is not in place.
I concur wholeheartedly - the momentum exception is not in place. But consider just what it's an exception TO: 8-5-2a, which describes when a safety occurs. This simply cannot be a touchback, because the receiving team forced the ball into their own EZ. Also, every single situation in 8-5-3, which defines touchback, requires the ball to be dead behind the goal line.

Also, I need to recant what I said previously about the enforcement spot on fouls on plays like this - see my post higher up in the thread.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Momentum play. DrMooreReferee Football 16 Sat Jun 10, 2006 12:20pm
Momentum exception or not? keystoneref Football 42 Tue Aug 31, 2004 06:51am
Momentum Rule? GPC2 Football 4 Tue Aug 17, 2004 04:02pm
NFHS Scrimmage-kick rule discussion ramaris Football 25 Thu Sep 04, 2003 11:51pm
Momentum rule after kick hits the ground! rdodom Football 8 Wed Dec 05, 2001 03:38pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1