The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 07, 2006, 10:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to AZ_REF
Forward Progress

At our local association meeting tonight I had a question that nobody could answer with a rule or case play.

If A1 is in the end zone and makes a diving catch over the endline and is:

A: Pushed back in by B1 who was in front of him and lands in the endzone

or

B: Pulled back in by B2 and lands in the endzone


What do you have?

The best answer I got is a touchdown because B was stupid. But I couldn't find that verbage in the rules. Any thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 07, 2006, 10:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 762
I'm not sure of the definitions of a completed catch under Fed rules, but I'd assume it has something to do with having control of the ball and 1 foot or some other part of his body down inbounds. In both of your plays it appears as though he has control of the ball and he landed inbouds so I'd say that meets the defintion of a completed pass and since this is in the end zone then we have a TD. Under NCAA it doesn't matter that he would have landed out of bounds if B didn't pull him back in. All that matters is what did happen not how it happened.

Last edited by JasonTX; Tue Aug 08, 2006 at 08:37am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 08, 2006, 07:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
NFHS: What more do you need?

In each case play, the team-A receiver is downed in the EZ. Touchdown.

The harder question would be what if the defensive player "pushed" the receiver so he lands OOB beyond the endline or pulled back so he lands in the field of play.
The NF rule and case books have words to basically cover those cases.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 08, 2006, 08:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 379
I'm having a hard time imagining this happening without the B player standing out of bounds. If that's the case- A is controlling the ball while he's in the air while touching B who is out of bounds, the ball would be considered dead before A ever touched the ground.

Incomplete pass- but a real tough sell.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 08, 2006, 08:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to AZ_REF
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewMcCarthy
I'm having a hard time imagining this happening without the B player standing out of bounds. If that's the case- A is controlling the ball while he's in the air while touching B who is out of bounds, the ball would be considered dead before A ever touched the ground.

Incomplete pass- but a real tough sell.
That's what I thought as well. B would have to be out of bounds. Actually that may be an easier sell to A's coach than explaining "well he wouldn't have scored but your player knocked him" in to B's coach.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 08, 2006, 08:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewMcCarthy
I'm having a hard time imagining this happening without the B player standing out of bounds. If that's the case- A is controlling the ball while he's in the air while touching B who is out of bounds, the ball would be considered dead before A ever touched the ground.

Incomplete pass- but a real tough sell.
REPLY: Not true...See NF 2-28-2 and NCAA 4-2-1a
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 08, 2006, 11:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 58
This one is easy. 8-2-1. Possession of a live ball in the opponents endzone is always a touchdown.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 08, 2006, 01:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewMcCarthy
I'm having a hard time imagining this happening without the B player standing out of bounds. If that's the case- A is controlling the ball while he's in the air while touching B who is out of bounds, the ball would be considered dead before A ever touched the ground.

Incomplete pass- but a real tough sell.
Sheesh, if that was true, then all a B player would have to do while chasing a runner would be to step on the sidelines and touch the runner while screaming to the ref that the play is over.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 08, 2006, 03:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 379
I'll go crawl back in my hole now.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Safety - Touchback - Forward Progress? cdnRef Football 27 Fri Dec 17, 2004 12:50pm
FORWARD PROGRESS MRIGUY Football 3 Tue Sep 28, 2004 12:43pm
Forward progress on goal line sloth Football 8 Fri Sep 17, 2004 12:04pm
Clarification of 'Forward Progress' WyMike Football 1 Wed Sep 08, 2004 12:55pm
Forward Progress JMN Football 11 Sun Jan 26, 2003 12:52pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1