![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
True, 3-4-3i says: The clock shall start with the snap or when any free-kick is touched, other than first touching by K, if the clock was stopped because: The penalty for a delay of game foul is accepted.
However 3-6-3 also says: When a team attempts to conserve or consume time illegally, the referee shall order the clock started or stopped. So I would agree with Sonofanump that this is a situation where the rules allow for 3-4-3i to be overruled by 3-6-3 and the clock to start on the RFP. Granted there are worse examples of a DOG but I would really think about winding on the RFP in this situation. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Are we talking about the same thing here?
A is trailing, has the ball and the clock is running out. A needs the clock stopped so they are going to spike the ball. A spikes the ball so as to stop the clock. However they do it illegally and are penalized with a delay of game. Have I mistakenly described your situation? Thus the clock was stopped by an illegal act and thus A has conserved time illegally just like I read 3-6-3. If this is all true then the referee has the obligation to start the clock on the RFP. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
3-6-3
3-6-3 isn't what it used to be. We are all going to have to now remember 3-4-6. The 2006 version of the rules list 3-6-3 as giving the R the authority to forfeit the game if a team refuses to play. 3-4-6 just doesn't flow off the tongue as easy as 3-6-3 did. After 25 years I guess I'll have to adapt.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| swiping at the snap | kkid091 | Football | 3 | Mon Nov 14, 2005 01:59pm |
| Pre-snap routine | Dommer1 | Football | 13 | Sat Oct 22, 2005 10:10pm |
| on the snap? | jjb | Football | 6 | Mon Oct 25, 2004 10:57am |
| snap or no snap | hobbes | Football | 8 | Tue Sep 21, 2004 04:36pm |
| Bad snap | ABoselli | Football | 7 | Mon Jan 13, 2003 06:26pm |