![]() |
|
|
|||
Hold On
Guys,
If the fumble that is now in the field of play were recovered by A wouldn't you give it to A at that point? The momentum rule (in this case) will only apply when a defensive team player intercepts either a forward or backward pass inside his 5 yard line AND THE BALL BECOMES DEAD THERE. So forget momentum and look at the rest of the play. The ball belongs to the intercepting team and then becomes loose. "A" who is now really "B" bats (illegally I assume) through the intercepting team's endzone. Your choice intercepting team, first and ten at your 18 or 20. My guess is at the 20.
__________________
Dan |
|
|||
New play (sorta) B intercepts on the 3 and his momentum carries him into the end zone and he fumbles the ball. The ball rolls out into the field of play and then bounces back into the endzone and out the side of the EZ. Is the momentum exception still in effect? I say yes because that meets the wording of 8-5-2. The little excursion by the ball into the field of play does not cancel the exception. If this correct then in the play we discussed where there is a foul, the 3 is the basic spot by rule and you can't have 1&10 from the 20.
In the case Dan mentions above, the play ends in the field of play so that cancels the exception. |
|
|||
Ok, I do agree with Jim. If we follow the rules to the letter as they are written, then momentum should still apply. However, as I stated before, I don't really think thats the intent of the rule. When they made the momentum excpetion I'm sure they didn't consider this little blip.
Bob M. There are many many smart officials on this forum. I hate to single you out here. But I have to say that when it comes to rules knowledge, you have to be right up there at the top. And most folks around this forum really respect your opinions. Could I request that you analyze my little play and give us your insight? Thanks a bunch. |
|
|||
I'm not the legendary Masucci
![]() Using NFHS rules: The momentum exception is just that: an exception. It applies only when the rule that it is excepting would apply - in this case, 8-5-2a, which says that it is a safety if you carry the ball into your own end zone and it becomes dead there in your team's possession. However, that rule does not apply here because of 8-5-1: Responsibility for forcing the ball from the field of play across a goal line is attributed to the player who carries, snaps, passes, fumbles, or kicks the ball, unless a new force is applied to a grounded backward pass, kick, or fumble. (emphasis mine)Once the ball is back in the field of play, force is determined all over again - and the force is definitely the illegal bat in this play. So, 8-5-2a is no longer relevant (we'd use 8-5-3c instead), which means that the ME is off. And since the final result of the play is a touchback according to 8-5-3c, by 10-5-4d, the basic spot is the succeeding spot. 1/10 for R from the R35. Under NCAA rules: I believe the same argument can be made - the momentum exception applies to 8-5-1, which defines safety. But the rule to be applied is 8-6-1a, which defines touchback. 8-7-1 and 8-7-2b(1) help to clarify whose impetus (force) puts the ball in the end zone for the final time. The catch is that NCAA rules have no equivalent to NFHS 10-5-4d. The closest they come is 10-2-2f(2), which requires the change of possession to occur in the end zone. Therefore, I believe the enforcement rule that applies is 10-2-2f(1), which says to enforce the penalty from the goal line. B will presumably decline this penalty and take the touchback, resulting in 1/10 for B from the B20. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
New Momentum interpretation question | CruiseMan | Football | 5 | Wed Aug 31, 2005 04:02pm |
Momentum on punts | trainman52 | Football | 3 | Tue Sep 28, 2004 12:28pm |
Momentum exception or not? | keystoneref | Football | 42 | Tue Aug 31, 2004 06:51am |
Momentum Rule? | GPC2 | Football | 4 | Tue Aug 17, 2004 04:02pm |
Momentum Swing | secondyear | Basketball | 7 | Wed Feb 06, 2002 12:37pm |