The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 28, 2005, 08:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
Mr D.H. Long,
I'm going to post a play from the FRD manual. I manual I reference quite often since I go from Friday to Saturday and have to switch the brain to a different rules code.

If you don't believe the result, then what can the rest of us say other than you are missing the NF point. Hit the books a little harder. You've had some excellent officials trying to point out the why's and wherefore's of this clock rule.

the Play:
4th and 10 on the K-20.
K2 is flagged for illegal motion as K1 punts.
The ball is caught by R4 and he is tackled inbounds.
Team-R accepts the penalty.

NF Ruling: The clock is restarted on the RFP. Team-R cannot be awarded a first down until the penalty is addressed, therefore the only reason for stopping the clock was the penalty.

NCAA Ruling: on the snap.

Notice the reason... it's been stated more than once in this thread of posts.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1