The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 22, 2005, 10:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 157
Here is a question that we have been discussing at length in our association. I will give my interpretation, but I don't necessarily know if it is absolutely correct or even if it is spelled out in the rule book.

R1 is in the game to return a kickoff. He muffs the kick at R's 15. R1 then bats the bouncing ball at R's 8 into and out of R's end zone. Ruling: Safety

We all agree that the answer is False it is not a Safety, but the disagreement is on the enforcement spot. I am of the opinion that the basic spot is the succeeding spot - which is R's 20-yard line. BUT, the penalty would be enforced from the 8-yard line since that spot is behind the basic spot.

Reasoning: based on 10-4-5d, the basic spot is the succeeding spot when the final result is a touchback. It is a touchback based on 2-13-4a, Force is not a factor on kicks going into R's end zone, since these kicks are always a touchback regardless of who supplied the force.


Other officials in the association insist that this is a loose ball foul that would be administered from the previous spot.

Monkey Wrench: If R1's batted ball goes out at R's 1-yard line, would the basic spot be the 1-yard line? Seems weird - just looking for clarification on this issue.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1