Quote:
Originally posted by GPC2
Here is a question that we have been discussing at length in our association. I will give my interpretation, but I don't necessarily know if it is absolutely correct or even if it is spelled out in the rule book.
R1 is in the game to return a kickoff. He muffs the kick at R's 15. R1 then bats the bouncing ball at R's 8 into and out of R's end zone. Ruling: Safety
We all agree that the answer is False it is not a Safety, but the disagreement is on the enforcement spot. I am of the opinion that the basic spot is the succeeding spot - which is R's 20-yard line. BUT, the penalty would be enforced from the 8-yard line since that spot is behind the basic spot.
Reasoning: based on 10-4-5d, the basic spot is the succeeding spot when the final result is a touchback. It is a touchback based on 2-13-4a, Force is not a factor on kicks going into R's end zone, since these kicks are always a touchback regardless of who supplied the force.
Other officials in the association insist that this is a loose ball foul that would be administered from the previous spot.
Monkey Wrench: If R1's batted ball goes out at R's 1-yard line, would the basic spot be the 1-yard line? Seems weird - just looking for clarification on this issue.
|
You are correct. The whole thing what is the correct basic spot.
10-4-2-b says the BS is the PS for a foul which occurs during a loose ball play, as defined in 10-3-1. 10-3-1-a says "a loose ball play is action during a free kick or other scrimmage kick." 10-4-5-d says "the BS is the SSpot when the final result is a touchback." Now we have a loose ball play, which resulted in a TB, so you have a SSpot enforcement. You can justify the TB trumping the PS loose ball BS enforcement cuz if the foul is a USC, DB, or NP foul (the others mentioned in 10-4-5, they are SSpot enforcements whether or not you had a loose ball, or running play. I don't think your other officials would argue with that, so if those 3 trump the PS BS, so would the TB.
Everything else on YOUR enforcement was correct.
For your "monkey wrench," in that case the BS would be the PS cuz the foul occurred during a kick and did not end in a TB.