Quote:
Originally posted by MJT
Quote:
Originally posted by mikesears
Rule 5-2-4 specifically states that if a foul occurs during a free kick, the next down will also be a free kick down. It makes no exceptions for a touchback. Seems pretty cut and dried to me that if K wants to accept the penalty for R's batting foul, they are going to be rekicking the ball per 5-2-4, regardless of the results of the play.
|
So Mike, if you have a USC foul on K during a free kick, the only option for R is to decline the foul or free kick again after the penalty enforcement? USC is a SSpot foul, as is DB, and nonplayer. If these would be SSpot enforcements, so would (d) in the same rule 10-4-5 which is "if the final result is a touchback."
|
I stand by my position. Obviously, we enforce ALL USC, dead ball, and nonplayer fouls from the succeeding spot ALL THE TIME. There is no rule contrary to this anywhere else in the book.
How do you rule on this play?
4th and Goal on R's 5-yard line. K1's field goal attempt is partially blocked and rolls to the 4-yard line. R1 then bats the ball out the back of their own end zone. What is the result of this play but more importantly, how do we enforce this?
Or how about this one?
1st and ten on A's 30-yard line. A1 is illegally in motion at the snap. A3 runs the ball all the way to B's 3-yard line where he fumbles the ball out of the back of B's end zone. What is the result of this play and how would the penalty be enforced?
[Edited by mikesears on Aug 23rd, 2005 at 09:59 AM]