View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 23, 2005, 10:44am
mikesears mikesears is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Quote:
Originally posted by GPC2
Quote:
Originally posted by mikesears


Casebook Play 8.5.3B address this situation.

Hey Mike, would you mind posting that play from the case book? I am at work and don't have my books with me. Thank you very much.
Play: K1 kicks off to start the second half. The ball is rolling on R’s 7-yard line when R1: (a) accidentally, or (b) intentionally kicks the ball into his own end zone where R2 recovers. Is the kick by R1 in either (a) or (b) a new force? If the action is a foul, where is it penalized from?

Ruling: It is not a new force in either (a) or (b), as force is not a consideration on kicks going into R’s end zone. Even though the ball was kicked by R1, the kick had not ended. The contact in (a) is ignored, because it was not an intentional act. In (b), the kick is illegal, and if the penalty is accepted, it is enforced from the previous spot. In both (a) and (b), the ball becomes dead when the kick breaks the plane of R’s goal line. (2-13-4; 9-7-1; 10-6)
__________________
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote