![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
This is not the same in NCAA. Once the kick has crossed the neutral zone, it is dead upon recovery by the kicking team. Where that recovery happens to occur is irrelevant. Because the ball was touched beyond the neutral zone by B, it will be 1st and 10 for Team A at the spot of the recovery, the A-25. By rule there is no forward pass here because the ball was already dead.
|
|
|||
|
I am pretty sure the rule for NCAA is exactly the same as it is for NF as it relates to K advancing the ball if the ball stays or comes back behind the LOS. I am pretty sure I have seen this happen and K advancing for a first down.
I will get home and look this up to verify the location of this rule. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
There was a long time in Fed when K's recovery made the ball dead anywhere on the field, regardless of any touching by R. |
|
|||
|
6-3-6-a. The ball is dead when a scrimmage kick that has crossed the neutral zone is caught or recovered by A.
NFL is like NFHS. If the ball comes back behind the line, A can still advance the ball. If the ball was touched by B, they get a new series. If the ball was not touched by B, it is the same series and they must reach the line to gain to maintain possession. |
|
|||
|
Legacy and Robert are right: under no circumstances can Team A advance a recovered KICK, unless it hasn't crossed the neutral zone. A new series of downs would attach, thus, Team A, first and 10 at the spot of recovery. (NCAA).
However, change the play just a little: what happens (Fed or NCAA) IF the ball goes out of Team A's end zone? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If the muff by the receiving team player is of the kick in flight, then in both Fed and NCAA, responsibility for the ball's being in the end zone is on the kick, i.e. team A, so you'd get a safety. If the kick touches the ground before being muffed, then there's a difference between Fed and NCAA, because in Fed that muff would usually have altered responsibility by the muffer's applying new force. I could, however, see cases in which the ball would've been bouncing towards A's goal line from the field of play, and the muff by R being ruled not to apply new force. In NCAA the kick would have to come to rest before the receiving player could be ruled to apply new force to it. So whether it's a safety or touchback could depend on factors not specified in the question. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Muff | jeremy24175 | Football | 11 | Wed Sep 05, 2007 04:31pm |
| Muff Pt. 2 | FredFan7 | Football | 8 | Wed Dec 10, 2003 12:16pm |
| Muff Pt. 1 | FredFan7 | Football | 5 | Mon Dec 08, 2003 01:23pm |
| K advancing a muff | Schultj | Football | 7 | Tue Jul 22, 2003 01:21pm |