The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 22, 2021, 02:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 82
Muff Play

4th and 10 on K’s 30 yard line. K-1’s punt is muffed by R-2 at Team K’s 40 yard line and is picked up behind the neutral zone by K-3 at the 25 yard line. As R player rush him , K-3 quickly passes the ball forward to eligible K-4, but the pass is incomplete. What is the results of this play?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 22, 2021, 02:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 82
Muffed

I gave K the ball at K’s 30 yard line?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 22, 2021, 05:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by surehands View Post
I gave K the ball at K’s 30 yard line?
Works according to Fed by 5-1-3(f). New series awarded too.

Same in NCAA via 5-1-1(e)2 and 5-1-4(b).

In NFL, I think the forward pass would be illegal, but possession would still be to team A. In Canadian football (assuming 3rd down), same as NFL, I think; not an offside pass because the player intended a legal forward pass.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 23, 2021, 11:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 38
This is not the same in NCAA. Once the kick has crossed the neutral zone, it is dead upon recovery by the kicking team. Where that recovery happens to occur is irrelevant. Because the ball was touched beyond the neutral zone by B, it will be 1st and 10 for Team A at the spot of the recovery, the A-25. By rule there is no forward pass here because the ball was already dead.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 23, 2021, 03:46pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
I am pretty sure the rule for NCAA is exactly the same as it is for NF as it relates to K advancing the ball if the ball stays or comes back behind the LOS. I am pretty sure I have seen this happen and K advancing for a first down.

I will get home and look this up to verify the location of this rule.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 23, 2021, 04:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by Legacy Zebra View Post
This is not the same in NCAA. Once the kick has crossed the neutral zone, it is dead upon recovery by the kicking team. Where that recovery happens to occur is irrelevant. Because the ball was touched beyond the neutral zone by B, it will be 1st and 10 for Team A at the spot of the recovery, the A-25. By rule there is no forward pass here because the ball was already dead.
You're right, it's 4-1-3(e). Might be true in NFL too.

There was a long time in Fed when K's recovery made the ball dead anywhere on the field, regardless of any touching by R.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 23, 2021, 05:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 38
6-3-6-a. The ball is dead when a scrimmage kick that has crossed the neutral zone is caught or recovered by A.

NFL is like NFHS. If the ball comes back behind the line, A can still advance the ball. If the ball was touched by B, they get a new series. If the ball was not touched by B, it is the same series and they must reach the line to gain to maintain possession.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Muff jeremy24175 Football 11 Wed Sep 05, 2007 04:31pm
Muff Pt. 2 FredFan7 Football 8 Wed Dec 10, 2003 12:16pm
Muff Pt. 1 FredFan7 Football 5 Mon Dec 08, 2003 01:23pm
K advancing a muff Schultj Football 7 Tue Jul 22, 2003 01:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1