The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 18, 2021, 10:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 139
no catch?

Receiver goes up for pass, catches the pass well in-bounds, but defender comes down with him, both have their hands on the ball, while going out of bounds.
Is this a catch or not?
Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 19, 2021, 09:27am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,590
Honestly need more information. Was anyone touching the ground in any way? Was this all in the air? And it could be a catch, but for whom would get it would depend on who did the things first or simultaneously. I would need more information to know when players had the ball and who hit the ground or how. You say well inbounds, but not sure that means a player was touching the ground or in the air?

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 19, 2021, 10:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 139
Ok, I'll try.
Offensive player catches a high pass along the sideline (both feet inbounds). As he comes down with the ball, defensive player reaches in and has 2 hands on the ball along with the receiver. The two struggle for sole possession while going out of bounds.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 20, 2021, 10:29am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,590
Well it sounds like the catch is over. Just because they struggling out of bounds, the catch appears to be made already. Might have to see it, but not sure how a defender out of bounds changes the status of the catch. And simultaneous catches go to the offensive player or the receiving team.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 20, 2021, 09:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,762
The catch is made and the ball becomes dead when the player on defense touches out of bounds. The only way that player could secure possession for his team would be if he were the last one in sole possession before going out of bounds. Otherwise the last team on offense retains possession.

You don't need solo possession for a catch. The loose ball is not extended until the player touches out of bounds, just because possession is simultaneous. If they break the plane of a goal line with the ball together, it's a touchdown if it's the attacking team's goal line, not a touchback.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fair/foul - then catch/no-catch David Emerling Baseball 36 Tue May 07, 2013 08:58am
Catch/No Catch- Atlanta v. Chicago biggravy Baseball 10 Thu Apr 08, 2010 08:27am
Ankiel injury - Catch/No-catch? TxUmp Baseball 17 Wed May 06, 2009 11:26pm
Catch or no catch(foul ball)? illiniwek8 Baseball 2 Sat Mar 25, 2006 07:16pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1