![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Ok, so R's foul occurred during the kick, or during the return, and K's foul occurred at some unknown point.
There's a couple of ways it could go: 1a) If R's foul was during the kick: R declines K's foul, K accepts the penalty for R's foul, and we enforce R's foul from the end of the kick (if foul was during the kick) OR 1b) if R's foul was during the return: R declines K's foul, R's foul is enforced under All-but-one (FED) or 3-and-1 (NCAA)... in either case, it's from either the end of the run or spot of the foul, whichever is worse for R. OR 2) fouls offset, and we replay 4th down. OR 3) R declines K's foul, K for some reason declines R's foul, and the result of the play stands. There's no real reason for K to do this, but coaches aren't always the smartest people in the room, and if the referee offered the option to K.... Sounds like Option 3 is what happened in your case. Most veteran officials would offer K's coach options 1a/1b (whichever is applicable) and 2, and not even mention Option 3. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Balk Question and Base Abandonment Question | easygoer | Baseball | 7 | Fri May 23, 2014 11:11am |
| A question on a play and a mechanics question. | aevans410 | Baseball | 11 | Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am |
| two questions - start of half question and free throw question | hoopguy | Basketball | 6 | Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:12pm |
| Rule Question and Mechanics Question | Stair-Climber | Softball | 15 | Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am |
| Over the back Question? Sorry mistyped my first question | CoaachJF | Basketball | 15 | Thu Feb 27, 2003 03:18pm |