![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Free kick situation
Opening kick off Friday night. Ball kicked toward sideline. Checks up and stops 1 inch from the sideline at the R11 yard line. R comes up straddles the sideline and picks the ball up. What do you have?
|
|
|||
|
Ball down at the 11. K did not kick the ball out of bounds, R is responsible for the ball being ruled out of bounds.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
That's exactly what we did .....however, I believe should have been illegal participation. As R intentionally went out of bounds and participating in the play by touching the ball. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
But based on the OP, all it said is he went out of bounds. How matters and I would not assume that unless it was stated or saw the play myself to make that determination. But in this case it would have be be obvious to make that ruling. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
I get it we are splitting hairs, but that is not how the rule reads. B and R must go out intentionally as stated in 9-6-2. So the issue is if you determine it was done on purpose for this part of the fouling situation. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Did he wait to play the ball until he saw it come to rest? So the ball was at rest with no player attempting to play it? And the only player who tries to play it is one who was already OOB? Then ignore his touching it; this is a kick that's come to rest in the field of play with no eligible player attempting to play it. R's ball at that spot, no foul.
|
|
|||
|
So this brings up my next question regarding this play....rule 6-2-9 states "a free kick should not be kicked out of bounds between the goal line untouched INBOUNDS by R". The ball was never touched inbounds by R...
|
|
|||
|
I really don’t like this. A six-foot tall player lying prone could touch a ball that is at rest two yards from the sideline and cause a foul against K? Many teams angle kick & would love to have their KOs end up there.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
https://youtu.be/zdw3Xj__eKA |
|
|||
|
Many years ago, this happened to us in a high school game. We kicked off, ball was bouncing near the sideline. R caught the ball, while standing out of bounds. Penalty was on us, the K team. Needless to say, not a popular call.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| onsides kick on the free kick | BuggBob | Football | 7 | Tue Dec 06, 2011 05:29pm |
| Drop kick on Free kick, on 40 or behind it? | airraider | Football | 6 | Wed Oct 05, 2011 11:43am |
| Another Kick question (free kick) | referee20 | Football | 15 | Wed Sep 16, 2009 08:14pm |
| Kick situation | ChickenOfNC | Football | 10 | Mon Nov 19, 2007 12:42pm |
| scrimmage kick situation | kentref | Football | 5 | Sun Sep 25, 2005 05:22pm |