The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 07, 2016, 07:24am
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by teebob21 View Post
As a one-time (as in two fill-in games) official, can you explain this part? I know a backwards pass is always legal, but I don't understand how, after a R-touched kick recovery, a K-team could attempt a forward pass (incomplete) and still have possession have the end of the play. I don't own a recent rule book, so if you can explain it in layman's terms AND give a rule cite, I'd be appreciative.
FED 5-3-f
"A new series is awarded to the team in possession at the end of the down if R is the first to touch a scrimmage kick while it is beyond the expanded neutral zone..."

If K recovers a scrimmage kick behind the neutral zone, they may run, pass or kick. An incomplete pass results in a new series for K (they are still in possession at the end of the down, since team possession has not changed) at the previous spot.

Case book play 5.1.3D is directly on point.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
scrimmage kick play MJT Football 3 Tue Oct 16, 2007 04:16pm
Scrimmage kick play tsumpire Football 5 Fri Jan 26, 2007 11:04am
Scrimmage kick play chayos Football 20 Mon Aug 21, 2006 11:13pm
Scrimmage Kick Play jack015 Football 4 Sat Aug 19, 2006 07:57am
Scrimmage kick play grantsrc Football 3 Tue Aug 15, 2006 12:32pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1