The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 01, 2015, 12:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
And I'm basing it on when the request is made, even though someone will come here behind me and tell me how contrary to the rules that is.

So my whistle may not blow until after B has possession of the ball.
While some might try to do so, they'd be wrong.

I grant it just the same as long as the request is made before the player has the ball out-of-bounds AND is turned around into a position where they could actually make a throwin. The moment I see a player flip the ball back over their head for a throwin while still facing away from the court will be the moment I start counting and disallow the timeout at the moment the player is merely OOB with the ball.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 01, 2015, 06:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
NF 4-4-7b: A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is available to a player after a goal and the official begins the throw-in count.

NF 4-42-3: The throw-in and the throw-in count begin when the ball is at the disposal of a player of the team entitled to it.


This is yet another oddity in the NF rule book. The ball is at the disposal when it's available to a player *and* the count begins, however...the count isn't supposed to begin until the ball is at the disposal of the player...which can't happen, in part, until the count begins.

I love this book...
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 01, 2015, 03:31pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,502
Too Bad Leonard Nimoy (Spock) Is Dead ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
The ball is at the disposal when it's available to a player *and* the count begins, however...the count isn't supposed to begin until the ball is at the disposal of the player...which can't happen, in part, until the count begins.

I love this book...
Circulus In Probando.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running the endline after a made hoop rbruno Basketball 28 Sun Jan 04, 2009 10:46am
Inbound after made hoop & net is tangled RefLarry Basketball 17 Thu Jul 31, 2008 10:24pm
5 Second count after made hoop rbruno Basketball 1 Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:38am
Time Out after Made Basket refhoops Basketball 7 Tue Jun 27, 2006 08:08am
Made basket then a time out fonzzy07 Basketball 4 Tue Dec 27, 2005 09:39pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1