The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Time out after a made hoop. (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99832-time-out-after-made-hoop.html)

rbruno Sun May 31, 2015 04:56pm

Time out after a made hoop.
 
Team A scores and Coach A requests a time out. When can he have it and when not? its about disposal for the thrower in I believe. Can he have it as long as Player B has not completely stepped out of bounds with the ball? I have always granted the time out if the player does not have the ball in his hands or has the ball but is still not out of bounds for the throw in and not granted when he is completely out of bounds.

bainsey Sun May 31, 2015 05:01pm

After a made hoop, the ball is dead. Anyone can request a time-out during a dead ball.

Once the ball is at the disposal of Team B for a throw-in, the ball becomes live. During a throw-in, only the team in control can call a time-out.

Once the throw-in is completed, player control is required to be granted a time-out.

Hope that helps.

rbruno Sun May 31, 2015 05:12pm

So when is the ball at the disposal of Team A? While it is on the floor after it went through? When he picks it up in bounds? After he steps out of bounds?
Like I said I am giving the time out until he is holding the ball out of bounds for the throw in and then no more.

rsl Sun May 31, 2015 05:33pm

The 'not so useful' answer is not to grant a time out after you or your partner have started a five second count.

Think about when you would start a count, and that is the answer. Personally, I usually start a count when the thrower is out of bounds with the ball, but I may start the count sooner if I think the thrower is intentionally delaying for some reason.

bob jenkins Sun May 31, 2015 07:39pm

Has the ball OOB, or could reasonably be expected to have the ball OOB

Rich Sun May 31, 2015 09:22pm

And I'm basing it on when the request is made, even though someone will come here behind me and tell me how contrary to the rules that is.

So my whistle may not blow until after B has possession of the ball.

crosscountry55 Sun May 31, 2015 09:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 963094)
And I'm basing it on when the request is made, even though someone will come here behind me and tell me how contrary to the rules that is.

So my whistle may not blow until after B has possession of the ball.

+1.

Just happened to me in a camp game today. I didn't get any flack for it, though I made sure to sell it. "[Loud voice] Time out, White, BEFORE blue had the ball!"

In my interpretation, since the whistle seldom causes the ball to become dead, it's the valid request that causes the ball to become dead. That's what gives Rich and I the latitude to rule in this fashion.

bainsey Sun May 31, 2015 10:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 963094)
And I'm basing it on when the request is made, even though someone will come here behind me and tell me how contrary to the rules that is.

I can't understand how that would be contrary.

After you hear the time out request, you need to take a second anyway to make sure an eligible person (head coach, player) said it, and whether it's a legal request. If "yes" to both, honor it, no matter where the ball is at the time you blow the whistle.

Rich Sun May 31, 2015 10:41pm

Give it time...

Camron Rust Mon Jun 01, 2015 12:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 963094)
And I'm basing it on when the request is made, even though someone will come here behind me and tell me how contrary to the rules that is.

So my whistle may not blow until after B has possession of the ball.

While some might try to do so, they'd be wrong.

I grant it just the same as long as the request is made before the player has the ball out-of-bounds AND is turned around into a position where they could actually make a throwin. The moment I see a player flip the ball back over their head for a throwin while still facing away from the court will be the moment I start counting and disallow the timeout at the moment the player is merely OOB with the ball.

JetMetFan Mon Jun 01, 2015 06:21am

NF 4-4-7b: A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is available to a player after a goal and the official begins the throw-in count.

NF 4-42-3: The throw-in and the throw-in count begin when the ball is at the disposal of a player of the team entitled to it.


This is yet another oddity in the NF rule book. The ball is at the disposal when it's available to a player *and* the count begins, however...the count isn't supposed to begin until the ball is at the disposal of the player...which can't happen, in part, until the count begins.

I love this book...

Raymond Mon Jun 01, 2015 10:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 963095)
+1.

Just happened to me in a camp game today. I didn't get any flack for it, though I made sure to sell it. "[Loud voice] Time out, White, BEFORE blue had the ball!"
.....

Must have been those soft-a$$ observers in York, PA. :D

crosscountry55 Mon Jun 01, 2015 01:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 963118)
Must have been those soft-a$$ observers in York, PA. :D

I figured you were there. See you in Richmond in a few weeks. :D

BillyMac Mon Jun 01, 2015 03:31pm

Too Bad Leonard Nimoy (Spock) Is Dead ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 963106)
The ball is at the disposal when it's available to a player *and* the count begins, however...the count isn't supposed to begin until the ball is at the disposal of the player...which can't happen, in part, until the count begins.

I love this book...

Circulus In Probando.

Raymond Tue Jun 02, 2015 07:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 963146)
I figured you were there. See you in Richmond in a few weeks. :D

Actually, 3 members of this forum were up there observing this weekend, and one moderator was a camper.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1