![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Just happened to me in a camp game today. I didn't get any flack for it, though I made sure to sell it. "[Loud voice] Time out, White, BEFORE blue had the ball!" In my interpretation, since the whistle seldom causes the ball to become dead, it's the valid request that causes the ball to become dead. That's what gives Rich and I the latitude to rule in this fashion. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Actually, 3 members of this forum were up there observing this weekend, and one moderator was a camper.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I didn't see a certain moderator's name on the student list. Oh woe is me!
__________________
THE FLY IS OPEN, LET'S GO PEAY
|
|
|||
|
As well as my #2 son and one of my adopted sons. Both noted the ball was horrible but had a good outcome otherwise..
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city |
|
|||
|
Quote:
After you hear the time out request, you need to take a second anyway to make sure an eligible person (head coach, player) said it, and whether it's a legal request. If "yes" to both, honor it, no matter where the ball is at the time you blow the whistle.
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I grant it just the same as long as the request is made before the player has the ball out-of-bounds AND is turned around into a position where they could actually make a throwin. The moment I see a player flip the ball back over their head for a throwin while still facing away from the court will be the moment I start counting and disallow the timeout at the moment the player is merely OOB with the ball.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
NF 4-4-7b: A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is available to a player after a goal and the official begins the throw-in count.
NF 4-42-3: The throw-in and the throw-in count begin when the ball is at the disposal of a player of the team entitled to it. This is yet another oddity in the NF rule book. The ball is at the disposal when it's available to a player *and* the count begins, however...the count isn't supposed to begin until the ball is at the disposal of the player...which can't happen, in part, until the count begins. I love this book...
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example." "If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..." "Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4." "The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge) |
|
|||
|
Too Bad Leonard Nimoy (Spock) Is Dead ...
Circulus In Probando.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Running the endline after a made hoop | rbruno | Basketball | 28 | Sun Jan 04, 2009 10:46am |
| Inbound after made hoop & net is tangled | RefLarry | Basketball | 17 | Thu Jul 31, 2008 10:24pm |
| 5 Second count after made hoop | rbruno | Basketball | 1 | Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:38am |
| Time Out after Made Basket | refhoops | Basketball | 7 | Tue Jun 27, 2006 08:08am |
| Made basket then a time out | fonzzy07 | Basketball | 4 | Tue Dec 27, 2005 09:39pm |