The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 01, 2015, 06:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
NF 4-4-7b: A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is available to a player after a goal and the official begins the throw-in count.

NF 4-42-3: The throw-in and the throw-in count begin when the ball is at the disposal of a player of the team entitled to it.


This is yet another oddity in the NF rule book. The ball is at the disposal when it's available to a player *and* the count begins, however...the count isn't supposed to begin until the ball is at the disposal of the player...which can't happen, in part, until the count begins.

I love this book...
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running the endline after a made hoop rbruno Basketball 28 Sun Jan 04, 2009 10:46am
Inbound after made hoop & net is tangled RefLarry Basketball 17 Thu Jul 31, 2008 10:24pm
5 Second count after made hoop rbruno Basketball 1 Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:38am
Time Out after Made Basket refhoops Basketball 7 Tue Jun 27, 2006 08:08am
Made basket then a time out fonzzy07 Basketball 4 Tue Dec 27, 2005 09:39pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1