![]() |
|
|
|||
Anyone have any insight as to what the C might've been indicating by his hands-apart "this many inches" signal right after the whistle blew?
Just like an NFL official demonstrating how short a team is of a first down after a measurement. He did it right away and walked toward the table. I assumed he was saying "it was 6 inches wide of the hoop" and I anticipated a review, but that was before I knew this call is not reviewable. Perhaps it was some way of saying, "I have a 3. Let's go to the monitor to confirm that" (which they did). |
|
|||
That's what I think it is. When they show the officials going to the monitor the official does the signal again to the scorer showing that he had a three.
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Quote:
If it is coming down such that it will hit the rim, it has some chance of going in even if that chance is very small. The defender has to leave it alone until after it his and bounces back out or is CLEARLY going to fall short of the rim.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Have to admit I thought the officials had blown this one. From the usual broadcast angle it appeared the ball was below the rim and wide right (i.e., did not have a chance of going in). No question on it being a try or on downward flight.
Looking at the other angles the ball was contacted above the rim and, as has already been stated, still had a chance of going in. Great call by the official who had the best look at it. Clutch call that I hope I have the guts to make when put in the same situation. |
|
|||
Only for a non-official who questions something, gets an answer, then continues to question it. You'll never be satisfied, so what is your purpose with continuing the conversation?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Because it was at best going to glance off the side of the rim and fall harmlessly to the floor. It was never going in.
|
|
|||
You didn't answer my question. What are you looking for by your constant complaints about this play. You've been provided answers by officials, and you are not satisfied. So what do you want?
Sounds just like a fan complaining about a rule he doesn't like.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Please just stop. You convey your extreme ignorance every time you post.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
A ball that grazes the outer edge of the rim has no possibility of going in. According the rule as written, goaltending couldn't be called. According to the interpretation talked about in this thread, it could be. There's a narrow window where the two don't agree.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Officials don't get stop frame views from over the basket. They have to call it from the court in real time. As such, the applicable criteria will be that it is still a try in flight until it has clearly MISSED the rim or has bounced off.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
USC-UCLA Basket Interference? (Video) | frezer11 | Basketball | 17 | Sun Jan 18, 2015 06:58pm |
Video Request: Minn vs. UCLA (Video Added) | JRutledge | Basketball | 9 | Sat Mar 23, 2013 01:47pm |
Usc-ucla | rainmaker | Basketball | 6 | Mon Jan 21, 2008 03:00pm |
UCLA Texas & UCLA NW | tcblue13 | Softball | 3 | Mon Jun 05, 2006 04:53pm |
UCLA vs AZ | wadeintothem | Softball | 2 | Sat May 07, 2005 12:57pm |