crosscountry55 |
Thu Mar 19, 2015 04:41pm |
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed
(Post 958220)
I guess we have to define what "has the possibility of entering the basket" means. Personally I think the ball would have hit the rim and bounced off, does that mean that the ball did or did not have a chance to enter the basket?
|
"Art. 3. Goaltending.
a. Goaltending occurs when a defensive player touches the ball during a fieldgoal try and each of the following conditions is met: (Exceptions: Rule 10-4.1.i)
1. The ball is on its downward flight; and
2. The ball is above the level of the ring and has the possibility, while in flight, of entering the basket and is not touching the cylinder."
More like, what does "while in flight" mean. I think that means until the try ends, and the try had not ended. The ball probably would have grazed the front of the rim and fallen or maybe bounced back toward the direction it came from. Would it probably have entered the basket? No. But could it possibly have? Yes. Gutsy call, but I think it was the correct call.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reffing Rev.
(Post 958221)
The call MAY have been TECHNICALLY correct.
It is going to be hard to have consistency on that call.
One more thing that will be reviewable in the final 2 minutes next year.
|
Good idea, but how do you review it if it's not called on the floor? Treat it as a correctable error? I guess that would be the way to go. You're right, this will probably now be reviewable in the future by coach request in the same way a FF1/2 can be reviewable even if not initially called on the floor.
|