![]() |
|
|||
Maybe he was watching the rebounder and not the rim and saw the rebound catch the ball at a point not above the rim?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
If the defender caught the ball, no. It would have been in possession when the whistle sounded. If the defender merely tapped the ball and the whistle blew, then yes, POI would lead to using the arrow.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
Why are you asking about a rule/play if all you are going to do is continue complaining when you don't get the answers you like? Don't act like you just popped up and I'm dismissing you. Your track record is documented on Brad's server, especially on the football side.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
How about one day you put on some stripes and make a few calls without the benefit of replay?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Adam; Fri Mar 20, 2015 at 03:46pm. Reason: play nice |
|
|||
My point - for this thread and many others that pop up in March - is that video can be extremely helpful for all of us to learn from. This video, and other requests I've seen posted already this year, do not generate discussion on rules or mechanics. It seems that some people only want to bash the tournament officials and only request clips of plays they deem are called incorrectly.
Last edited by Adam; Fri Mar 20, 2015 at 03:46pm. Reason: play nice |
|
|||
I never said any such thing. I've said that the "could hit the rim" interpretation and the words "could possibly go in" don't always overlap perfectly. In my opinion the rule as written doesn't support the call. The interpretation you've stated does, but I feel like this particular play is in the middle ground where both statements don't apply.
Last edited by Adam; Fri Mar 20, 2015 at 03:45pm. Reason: play nice |
|
|||
Quote:
So, a 50 ft. SHOT can be intercepted 3 ft. from the basket by the offense and rammed home? But, the defense has to just back off? Seems a little unfair offense over defense. Like the NFHS rule better.
__________________
Mulk |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Yes, if the official thinks it has a chance to go in. However, if it is falling well short of the rim, then the try is already over, by definition (ends when...."when it is certain the throw is unsuccessful"), and anyone can play it. It is only when the ball is on a trajectory to hit the rim (or go in) where the offense can play it while the defense can't.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Fri Mar 20, 2015 at 04:29pm. |
|
|||
It's a matter of opinion.
|
|
|||
Hmm. On one side we have a lone voice of a non-referee crying in the wilderness, and on the other side we have a gazillion years of refereeing experience. Darn, I just don't know who to believe.
![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
USC-UCLA Basket Interference? (Video) | frezer11 | Basketball | 17 | Sun Jan 18, 2015 06:58pm |
Video Request: Minn vs. UCLA (Video Added) | JRutledge | Basketball | 9 | Sat Mar 23, 2013 01:47pm |
Usc-ucla | rainmaker | Basketball | 6 | Mon Jan 21, 2008 03:00pm |
UCLA Texas & UCLA NW | tcblue13 | Softball | 3 | Mon Jun 05, 2006 04:53pm |
UCLA vs AZ | wadeintothem | Softball | 2 | Sat May 07, 2005 12:57pm |