The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 10, 2015, 07:13am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
W5 received a FF1 and a T. G12 received a T.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 10, 2015, 08:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
W5 received a FF1 and a T. G12 received a T.
The officials must have decided that the first foul by W5 occurred while the ball was live after reviewing the video.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 10, 2015, 11:26am
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: DE
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
The officials must have decided that the first foul by W5 occurred while the ball was live after reviewing the video.
I agree that is the only way they could have decide it in order to administer it the way they did. They shot the common foul followed by the FF1 free throws as the double T's cancel. I am confused though as to why they administered the throw in after the FF1 free throws at the division line instead of at the spot of the foul.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 10, 2015, 11:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
So they saw a punch thrown? But they didn't think it was a big enough punch to warrant an ejection?

I'm confused on that part.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 10, 2015, 02:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 38
I think everyone is confused because the announcers erroneously said they called a double tech which I don't think ever happened. They called the common foul and noticed the scrumm reviewed to see if anything bad happened decided white had a DBCT shot the 1 and 1 shot the DBcT and took to division line correctly.....?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 10, 2015, 02:30pm
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Sounds like everything was done right, except that W5 should have been ejected if the double tech truly occurred.

BTW, I called an intentional foul on a player I saw throw a little jab into his opponent. While making the call I knew I could toss the player as it was a fighting act, but it was early in the game and the jab didn't lead to any sort of retaliation (punch back, arguing, etc), so I left it as an intentional foul and moved on. The rest of the game was great, and there was no ill will from either side (coaches or players).
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 10, 2015, 05:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
Sounds like everything was done right, except that W5 should have been ejected if the double tech truly occurred.

BTW, I called an intentional foul on a player I saw throw a little jab into his opponent. While making the call I knew I could toss the player as it was a fighting act, but it was early in the game and the jab didn't lead to any sort of retaliation (punch back, arguing, etc), so I left it as an intentional foul and moved on. The rest of the game was great, and there was no ill will from either side (coaches or players).
So a punch is only considered a punch if there is retaliation? Not fair for the punchee IMO.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 17, 2015, 12:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: 3 hrs east of the western time zone
Posts: 895
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
Sounds like everything was done right, except that W5 should have been ejected if the double tech truly occurred.

BTW, I called an intentional foul on a player I saw throw a little jab into his opponent. While making the call I knew I could toss the player as it was a fighting act, but it was early in the game and the jab didn't lead to any sort of retaliation (punch back, arguing, etc), so I left it as an intentional foul and moved on. The rest of the game was great, and there was no ill will from either side (coaches or players).
Sounds like a very smart piece of officiating....well done !!!!!
__________________
Go ugly early, avoid the rush !!!!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 10, 2015, 02:31pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by CNYREF View Post
I think everyone is confused because the announcers erroneously said they called a double tech which I don't think ever happened. They called the common foul and noticed the scrumm reviewed to see if anything bad happened decided white had a DBCT shot the 1 and 1 shot the DBcT and took to division line correctly.....?
Play-by-play indicates a technical was called on both G12 and W5, as well as a FF1 on W5.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 10, 2015, 07:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by CNYREF View Post
I think everyone is confused because the announcers erroneously said they called a double tech which I don't think ever happened. They called the common foul and noticed the scrumm reviewed to see if anything bad happened decided white had a DBCT shot the 1 and 1 shot the DBcT and took to division line correctly.....?
Turns out I think this was what happened. I checked multiple box scores and in each one, the only T in the game was noted for W5. Given the fact that G12 did not shoot foul shots and the ball subsequently was given to G at the division line, I knew what W5 got hit with must have been a CDBT and not a FF1.

I'm pretty sure there was a Double T initially called because there was a "whistle and hands point both way" mechanic used by the calling official, and given the situation both the announcer and I immediately recognized it as a Double T. So yeah....I honestly think that after the review, realizing that they probably called the Double T before they had all the facts from the monitor review, they simply took it back. Wow. Ballz!

There was a long chat with the coaches before the final verdict; W coach looked relieved and G coach had a look as if he was thinking, "Ok, that's fair, my player G12 doesn't get a T and I get the ball; I can deal with that." So I wonder if the officials explained to the coaches that they were going to rescind the Double T with justification?

What do you think? Championship game, you call a Double T, then do a review and find another T. W5 should be ejected. Would you take back the Double T?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 10, 2015, 08:45pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Looking at the replay, G12 did absolutely nothing. He didn't even retaliate after getting the business. I could see his T getting rescinded after they went to the monitor.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Iona/Manhattan--2 plays (Video) Raymond Basketball 4 Sun Feb 15, 2015 02:49am
Iona/Manhattan: Blocking foul JetMetFan Basketball 11 Sun Feb 17, 2013 12:48pm
Iona/Manhattan: No Call JetMetFan Basketball 9 Sun Feb 17, 2013 08:50am
Clarification on Fouls/False Multiple & False Double stickingthe3 Basketball 14 Mon Jan 07, 2013 06:38pm
False Double Fouls and Simultaneous Fouls Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Basketball 14 Fri Feb 13, 2004 08:48am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1