![]() |
|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|
|||
|
B1 is whistled for a handcheck. A1 takes 2 more dribbles after the whistle and turns to pass the ball to the official. B1 knows the play is dead but attempts to knock the pass down and instead whacks A1 across the wrists.
Is that a tech?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Now will you please answer the question that I've asked you twice? |
|
|||
|
No I'm not.
And in the play I submitted to you, I'm calling a T. And I have no problem explaining it to a coach or supervisor. I had this debate with Jurassic when I first joined the board. I err on the side of vigorously discouraging any unnecessary crap between players.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Wed Feb 11, 2015 at 09:39am. |
|
|||
|
Third one of the season yesterday. GV. Defensive player in upper block enters lane, proceeds backwards to displace FT shooter.
Shooter, "holding her pose" as the FT was in flight, buckled over from the "butt to the gut" illegal contact (actually lower than the shooter's gut, but then it wouldn't rhyme). Spurious charge of, "But she was boxing her out!" by defensive coach was laughable. Didn't need to check the monitor for this one. Wasn't a dead-ball technical.
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The rules tell us that not all contact during a dead ball should be penalized with a technical foul. Quite clearly officials are to only penalize contact that is deemed intentional or flagrant, so I'm going to stick with that. Sadly, you are having trouble answering the question I posed because you are reluctant to reconsider your long-held belief and come to terms with the fact that you've been acting incorrectly. |
|
|||
|
No, we're supposed to apply the rules. BNR is ignoring the rules book definition of "intentional" and instead using it's common definition in order to justify Ts that aren't justified under the rules.
You cannot give a T because you don't like someone or their actions. They must actually commit an act that is punishable, by rule, with a technical foul. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
10-3 ART. 7 A player shall not: Intentionally or flagrantly contacting an opponent when the ball is dead and such contact is not a personal foul. Nowhere does that rule say that "Intentionally" is defined as the same contact that constitutes an Intentional foul. But to play your "BNR is ignoring the rule" game, one definition of an Intentional foul is: b. Contact away from the ball with an opponent who is clearly not involved with a play. Once the ball is dead, the player contacted is obviously not involved in any play of any kind, so that contact can be deemed Intentional in my book.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
I'm fine with the ground I'm on. And yes, I call Techs on dead balls when players do something I deem detrimental to the good order and discipline of the game. You don't have to like it. Now, if you are ever my supervisor, I will adjust my thinking for those games which you assign me. Until then you'll just have to live with the travesty my way of thinking is rendering to the game.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Wed Feb 11, 2015 at 10:32am. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Northern Iowa at Illinois State (Video) | JRutledge | Basketball | 27 | Thu Jan 29, 2015 03:04pm |
| Free Thrower being boxed out (Video) | tlavan | Basketball | 13 | Thu Dec 04, 2014 04:52pm |
| Michigan State/Ohio State video request x2 9(Clips Added) | zm1283 | Basketball | 7 | Thu Jan 09, 2014 04:55pm |
| Video Request - Penn State - Illinois | canuckrefguy | Basketball | 12 | Tue Jan 07, 2014 10:46pm |
| Technical Foul Administration in Illinois-Michigan State Game | aces88 | Basketball | 26 | Wed Feb 02, 2005 05:54pm |