![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Yes it was a good call if the player goes out of bounds. It is a rule. And John Adams would want this called. You cannot see the player run out of bounds on the camera, but if he goes out of bounds to get an advantage, it should be called if he is the first to touch the ball during a pass. And yes it should be called in that situation. It probably was not even close either.
Please stop putting stock in what announcers say. They do not know the rules either. Even his description of the play showed how clueless he was. I did not even need to see the play to know what the rule was that applied here. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
...and I agree with your assessment.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Assuming he was out of bounds, it's an easy and correct call.
I get it once or twice a season. Note that the HS rule is different, and officials have differenct philosophies on how tightly to call it in HS. |
|
||||
|
Quote:
|
|
||||
|
Quote:
Funny thing is, if we cared enough, we could probably verify when he's shown to be wrong.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
||||
|
Quote:
Bucknell recap: "After a timeout, the Bison turned it over on a rarely seen call. Kaspar delivered a bounce pass to Frazier out near the top of the key, but the official underneath the basket blew the play dead and ruled that Frazier had stepped out of bounds on his cut along the baseline. That gave Colgate the ball back with 12.5 seconds left, and Tillotson swished a jumper from the right elbow to put the Raiders ahead with 1.1 seconds left. Bucknell’s long inbounds pass was broken up as time expired." The sad thing is that none of these officials have more than 10 D1 games in this season based on a quick StatSheet search -- all in smaller conferences -- and it wouldn't shock me in the least bit if our anonymous poster isn't correct |
|
|||
|
I don't want to criticize the ref because I can't see the angle. And the screens may have been set too close to the baseline so the offensive player ran out. But...either that is a great call or a horrible one in the situation. I saw a college game on Saturday where there were repeated plays where the offense was running out on those baseline screens. Those things happen and refs and players get used to it. Maybe it wasn't as blatant as this one possibly was, but this call was very interesting. To me it doesn't look bad, but maybe there was a warning about it and he could have went out without contact. we just don't have the angle. I don't want to bother watching the game but I'm sure that is a call the supervisors will want to get an explanation for. Despite the rocky start with the OP this ended up being an intriguing video.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Strange(False)Ending in MInnesota 3A semi-final | paulsonj72 | Baseball | 51 | Thu Jun 21, 2012 07:12am |
| Amazing ending ... 8 points in under 2 seconds (with video) | Brad | Basketball | 23 | Wed Mar 12, 2008 07:16am |
| Strange ending | EJL | Softball | 23 | Fri Aug 17, 2007 09:28pm |
| Wild ending -- video review -- MN-SDSU women | womens_hoops | Basketball | 50 | Wed Jan 24, 2007 08:18pm |
| Strange Local Rules | alabamabluezebra | Softball | 13 | Fri May 02, 2003 07:57am |