![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
I liked it...and I think it's right and the reason they removed the other play from the case book and the reason this play is called a block. Having said that, iv'e screwed up before and i'm sure i will again.
All I've seen so far is player entitled to spot on floor provided he get there first. Got it, but that doesnt mean lying down is a legal position. the player standing as i mentioned has a spot. He was there forever. But because his elbows are sticking out that's a foul. Even if B1 runs near him on purpose. he cant be beyond his plane. when you are lying down your feet are on one end. vertical plane goes up. the rest of you is horizontal, out of your vertical plane...just like the screener. i see the player lying on the floor out of his vertical plane or taking up multiple spots on the floor. 6 foot player lying on floor takes up 2 or 3 spots. He only gets 1. so tell me the screwup. thx Last edited by BigCat; Sun Jan 25, 2015 at 02:38pm. |
|
|||
Some Questions ???
Why did the NFHS remove the "travel" call caseplay from the 2005-06 Casebook?
Why has IAABO (statewide, and again, not the NFHS) now come out, on record, and called this a blocking foul? Could it be because the "powers that be" have decided that this is now a blocking foul, even though the rule wording may be ambiguous? Why can't the grand poobah of the NFHS be a participating Forum member? That would make matters a lot simpler.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Jan 25, 2015 at 02:23pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
The player lying on the floor is in a legal position (in NFHS only). If they stick up their arm or leg and trip a player with it, they're not. Exactly the same principle as your standing player. A stationary player owns their space from head to toe regardless if their orientation is vertical or horizontal . If that player sticks a limb outside the frame of their torso and causes contact, they have fouled. If they do not stick a limb outside of the frame of their torso, they are legal.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
Last edited by BigCat; Sun Jan 25, 2015 at 03:18pm. |
|
|||
Camron is correct.
There is a casebook situation that specifically addresses this, and that interpretation remains in effect until it it specifically changed, which NFHS has not done. The screening rule is irrelevant in the situation being discussed.
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons - for thou art crunchy and taste good with ketchup! Last edited by TimTaylor; Sun Jan 25, 2015 at 06:59pm. |
|
|||
As is any reference to LGP irrelevant, with player on floor not moving after obtaining his position on the floor legally. He may or may not have LGP but that is not germane to making the proper call on this play.
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city |
|
|||
Quote:
If a player does it on purpose, there are other case plays to deal with that and it isn't going to be a common foul.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Tripping | zm1283 | Football | 5 | Sun Oct 23, 2011 08:45pm |
Tripping from Behind | Freddy | Basketball | 45 | Tue Dec 14, 2010 05:28pm |
Tripping? | Eastshire | Soccer | 1 | Fri Aug 27, 2010 08:39am |
Tripping | Suudy | Football | 10 | Tue Oct 11, 2005 04:58am |
Dribbler trips, or was tripped . . . | assignmentmaker | Basketball | 4 | Sat Jun 25, 2005 02:24am |