The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 24, 2005, 04:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 508
I am a devotee of the idea that, if there's contact between a dribbler and defender, and something happened that had a material effect, then something probably happened.

That being said, here's something that happens not infrequently that I thinks slips between the cracks of the rules. It's not covered in the casebook, to my knowledge - if it is, I'd be happy to hear about it.

Defender B1 is standing still and has legal guarding position on dribbler A1. A1 moves to go around B1, gets head and shoulders past B1, but, in going around, trips on B1's foot. Disadvantage A1.

Player control, disadvantage, this is not the stuff of the (illusive, often scoundrelly) 'good no-call'. Yet, in this one, highly defined circumstance, I find I see it that way. I'm not about to call a player control foul; and I'm not about to call a block on a player who has legal guarding position and is standing still. For the rationale oriented . . . how about this: "yes, head and shoulders were past the defender, but the defender's foot was at his/her shoulder's width . . . thus contact was actually within shoulder-to-shoulder."



__________________
Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1