The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 21, 2015, 09:58am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
If the other team was trying to throw the ball in, call the T. If they were going to let the clock run out, let the clock run (per the case play).

Throwing it into the stands isn't going to be a DOG warning at any point in the game, anyway. If you call the T and the coach shows his ass, give him his own T regardless of whether you want to give him the satisfaction.

I had this play in a freshman game a few years ago, but instead of throwing the ball, the team who scored simply stepped OOB hoping for a call. My partner rightly ignored it, and I looked at the coach who just shrugged his shoulders and smiled.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 21, 2015, 01:08pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
If the other team was trying to throw the ball in, call the T. If they were going to let the clock run out, let the clock run (per the case play).
What's the case play number for this one?
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 21, 2015, 01:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
What's the case play number for this one?
See 5.10.1 Situation E and 9.2.10 Situation A.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 21, 2015, 04:17pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,495
Let's Go To The Videotape ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by La Rikardo View Post
9.2.10 Situation A.
9.2.10 SITUATION A: A1 is out of bounds for a throw-in. B1 reaches through
the boundary plane and knocks the ball out of A1’s hands. Team B has not been
warned previously for a throw-in plane infraction. RULING: B1 is charged with a
technical foul and it also results in the official having a team warning recorded
and reported to the head coach. COMMENT: In situations with the clock running
and five or less seconds left in the game, a throw-in plane violation or interfering
with the ball following a goal should be ignored if its only purpose is to stop the
clock. However, if the tactic in any way interferes with the thrower’s efforts to
make a throw-in, a technical foul for delay shall be called even though no previous
warning had been issued. In this situation, if the official stopped the clock
and issued a team warning, it would allow the team to benefit from the tactic. (4-
47-1; 10-1-5b, c; 10-3-10)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How would you have called this howie719 Basketball 33 Fri Dec 18, 2009 08:01pm
Would you have called INT? DaveASA/FED Softball 13 Wed May 14, 2008 07:53am
What they want called, and what is called (Strike Zone again!) FUBLUE Softball 30 Tue May 13, 2008 05:14am
Should I have called it? Rachel Softball 6 Mon Apr 16, 2007 09:10pm
What would you have called? NYBAREF Basketball 11 Wed Mar 12, 2003 07:16pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1