The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2015, 02:43pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
so team A has 5 fouls, A1 fouls for the 6th foul and after a Tech is called. Team A should be shooting the T, not the bonus.

Same as above but let's say somehow there was a simultaneous foul and Tech on team A. Shoot the bonus here?
Shoot in the order of occurance. If I can't tell, I'm going to assume the T came last here.

If you say the T was first, then the ball was dead for the common foul and it's ignored unless flagrant or intentional.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2015, 06:23pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
Who You Gonna Call ???



Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
I haven't called a "reaching" foul in more than 10 years.
I haven't called one in thirty-four years. I had great teachers.

Reaching in is not a foul. There must be illegal contact to have a foul. The mere act of reaching in is, by itself, nothing. If illegal contact does occur, it’s probably a holding foul, an illegal use of hands foul, or a hand check foul. When a player, in order to stop the clock, does not make a legitimate play for the ball, holds, pushes, or grabs away from the ball, or uses undue roughness, the foul is an intentional foul.

Over the back is not a foul. There must be illegal contact to have a foul. A taller player may often be able to get a rebound over a shorter player, even if the shorter player has good rebounding position. If the shorter player is displaced, then a pushing foul must be called. A rebounding player, with an inside position, while boxing out, is not allowed to push back or displace an opponent, which is a pushing foul.

A moving screen is not in and of itself a foul, illegal contact must occur for a foul to be called. If a blind screen is set on a stationary defender, the defender must be given one normal step to change direction and attempt to avoid contact. If a screen is set on a moving defender, the defender gets a minimum of one step and a maximum of two steps, depending on the speed and distance of the defender.

It is legal use of hands to accidentally hit the hand of the opponent when it is in contact with the ball. This includes holding, dribbling, passing, or even during a shot attempt. Striking a ball handler or a shooter on that player's hand that is incidental to an attempt to play the ball is not a foul.

Things Officials Should Probably Not Be Saying In A Game

(Coming soon to a Sportorial magazine near you.)

"Over the back", reported by an official to the table on a rebounding foul, is, in reality, probably a pushing foul. Over the back is not necessarily a foul. There must be illegal contact to have a foul. A taller player may often be able to get a rebound over a shorter player, even if the shorter player has good rebounding position. If the shorter player is displaced, then a pushing foul must be called, and this should be reported to the table as such.

"Reaching in", reported by an official to the table on a foul against a ball handler, is not necessarily a foul. There must be illegal contact to have a foul. The mere act of reaching in, is by itself, nothing. If illegal contact does occur, it’s probably a holding foul, an illegal use of hands foul, or a hand check foul, and these should be reported to the table as such.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2015, 07:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by jTheUmp View Post
Or you've got a partner who just doesn't care to use correct terminology.

I actually had, very recently, in a varsity game, a partner who told players to "quit reaching"... and he's definitely not 'untrained'.

What age/level was this game?
Using the term "reaching" when speaking to players in this manner is VERY different than reporting a foul as such.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2015, 07:22pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by MechanicGuy View Post
Using the term "reaching" when speaking to players in this manner is VERY different than reporting a foul as such.
It's different, but I don't think the difference is that significant. I try to avoid telling players to quit doing things the rules allow them to do.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2015, 07:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by MechanicGuy View Post
Using the term "reaching" when speaking to players in this manner is VERY different than reporting a foul as such.
Even if it is different, it can only reinforce the wrong thing. Better to avoid it entirely.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2015, 08:42pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by MechanicGuy View Post
Using the term "reaching" when speaking to players in this manner is VERY different than reporting a foul as such.
When I played I had slow feet, but very quick hands. Telling me to quit reaching would be telling me to quit getting steals.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2015, 10:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
so team A has 5 fouls, A1 fouls for the 6th foul and after a Tech is called. Team A should be shooting the T, not the bonus.

Same as above but let's say somehow there was a simultaneous foul and Tech on team A. Shoot the bonus here?
Nope. No free throws for simultaneous and double fouls. But both of these involve different teams each picking up a foul....

...So I'm wondering, did you maybe mean a multiple foul? Not that anyone should ever call such a foul, but a multiple foul carries its own free throw penalties that are independent of the bonus rule. So you'd have team fouls 6 and 7, and the T would be 8. So clear the lane for the multiple foul free throws, and then get your T shooter and shoot the T free throws, and then Team B gets the ball for a throw-in division line opposite the table.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Application of the lookback rule BratzCoach Softball 29 Mon Jul 18, 2011 03:34pm
application of ASA 10.3.C (detailed play) okla21fan Softball 28 Fri May 20, 2011 11:25pm
Proper application of OBS? U of M Sam Softball 1 Sun Jul 10, 2005 12:03pm
Application of 9.01(c) akalsey Baseball 20 Tue Jun 15, 2004 12:49pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1