![]() |
|
|
|||
Correct Application
In our game last night one referee called a reaching foul on my player at mid-court which resulted in our 6th team foul. Before the opposing team
could inbound the ball at mid-court after the common foul, same referee called a technical foul on me. The opposing team was awarded 2 shots for the technical. I assumed the opposing team would then take the ball out on the sideline. However, and I'm guessing since I wasn't allowed to stand up and question, the referee in question then awarded a one and one to the opposing team's player who was fouled at mid-court. After she shot the one and one, the opposing team was awarded possession on the sideline. My question is how do you go back and penalize the 6th team foul with a one and one? The technical was a subsequent foul that had nothing to do with the common 6th foul. The opposing team was awarded 4 free throws and possession of the ball at a critical juncture of a close game. |
|
||||
Quote:
![]() I haven't called a "reaching" foul in more than 10 years.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Who You Gonna Call ???
![]() I haven't called one in thirty-four years. I had great teachers. Reaching in is not a foul. There must be illegal contact to have a foul. The mere act of reaching in is, by itself, nothing. If illegal contact does occur, it’s probably a holding foul, an illegal use of hands foul, or a hand check foul. When a player, in order to stop the clock, does not make a legitimate play for the ball, holds, pushes, or grabs away from the ball, or uses undue roughness, the foul is an intentional foul. Over the back is not a foul. There must be illegal contact to have a foul. A taller player may often be able to get a rebound over a shorter player, even if the shorter player has good rebounding position. If the shorter player is displaced, then a pushing foul must be called. A rebounding player, with an inside position, while boxing out, is not allowed to push back or displace an opponent, which is a pushing foul. A moving screen is not in and of itself a foul, illegal contact must occur for a foul to be called. If a blind screen is set on a stationary defender, the defender must be given one normal step to change direction and attempt to avoid contact. If a screen is set on a moving defender, the defender gets a minimum of one step and a maximum of two steps, depending on the speed and distance of the defender. It is legal use of hands to accidentally hit the hand of the opponent when it is in contact with the ball. This includes holding, dribbling, passing, or even during a shot attempt. Striking a ball handler or a shooter on that player's hand that is incidental to an attempt to play the ball is not a foul. Things Officials Should Probably Not Be Saying In A Game (Coming soon to a Sportorial magazine near you.) "Over the back", reported by an official to the table on a rebounding foul, is, in reality, probably a pushing foul. Over the back is not necessarily a foul. There must be illegal contact to have a foul. A taller player may often be able to get a rebound over a shorter player, even if the shorter player has good rebounding position. If the shorter player is displaced, then a pushing foul must be called, and this should be reported to the table as such. "Reaching in", reported by an official to the table on a foul against a ball handler, is not necessarily a foul. There must be illegal contact to have a foul. The mere act of reaching in, is by itself, nothing. If illegal contact does occur, it’s probably a holding foul, an illegal use of hands foul, or a hand check foul, and these should be reported to the table as such.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
His point was that there is no such thing as a "reaching foul." A player who reaches in may be guilty of a foul for making contact with the opponent, but the reach itself is not a foul. If you had referees who were actually calling "reaching" a foul when they reported to the scorers table, you had official with littleor no training. If so, it is not surprising that they would botch the enforcement here.
Last edited by so cal lurker; Thu Jan 15, 2015 at 12:56pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
I actually had, very recently, in a varsity game, a partner who told players to "quit reaching"... and he's definitely not 'untrained'. What age/level was this game? |
|
|||
Using the term "reaching" when speaking to players in this manner is VERY different than reporting a foul as such.
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
It's a correctable error. You are allowed to stand to try to prevent / rectify that (you're supposed to ask the scorer to signal the referee and tehn have the discussion).
|
|
|||
This is the most important take away from this thread.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Application of the lookback rule | BratzCoach | Softball | 29 | Mon Jul 18, 2011 03:34pm |
application of ASA 10.3.C (detailed play) | okla21fan | Softball | 28 | Fri May 20, 2011 11:25pm |
Proper application of OBS? | U of M Sam | Softball | 1 | Sun Jul 10, 2005 12:03pm |
Application of 9.01(c) | akalsey | Baseball | 20 | Tue Jun 15, 2004 12:49pm |