The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Correct Application (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99064-correct-application.html)

mikaryan Thu Jan 15, 2015 11:52am

Correct Application
 
In our game last night one referee called a reaching foul on my player at mid-court which resulted in our 6th team foul. Before the opposing team
could inbound the ball at mid-court after the common foul, same referee called a technical foul on me. The opposing team was awarded 2 shots
for the technical. I assumed the opposing team would then take the ball out on the sideline.

However, and I'm guessing since I wasn't allowed to stand up and question, the referee in question then awarded a one and one to the opposing team's
player who was fouled at mid-court. After she shot the one and one, the opposing team was awarded possession on the sideline.

My question is how do you go back and penalize the 6th team foul with a one and one? The technical was a subsequent foul that had nothing to do with the common 6th foul. The opposing team was awarded 4 free throws and possession of the ball at a critical juncture of a close game.

Adam Thu Jan 15, 2015 11:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mikaryan (Post 950437)
In our game last night one referee called a reaching foul on my player at mid-court which resulted in our 6th team foul. Before the opposing team
could inbound the ball at mid-court after the common foul, same referee called a technical foul on me. The opposing team was awarded 2 shots
for the technical. I assumed the opposing team would then take the ball out on the sideline.

However, and I'm guessing since I wasn't allowed to stand up and question, the referee in question then awarded a one and one to the opposing team's
player who was fouled at mid-court. After she shot the one and one, the opposing team was awarded possession on the sideline.

My question is how do you go back and penalize the 6th team foul with a one and one? The technical was a subsequent foul that had nothing to do with the common 6th foul. The opposing team was awarded 4 free throws and possession of the ball at a critical juncture of a close game.

Assuming it played out as you indicate, the officials got it wrong.

It happens. It shouldn't, but it does. Are you sure they called a "reaching" foul?

mikaryan Thu Jan 15, 2015 12:00pm

Correct Application
 
Yes, common foul at mid court which put our team foul total to 6. Thanks for the reply.

Adam Thu Jan 15, 2015 12:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mikaryan (Post 950443)
Yes, common foul at mid court which put our team foul total to 6. Thanks for the reply.

Sorry, I was being a bit antagonistic. :)
I haven't called a "reaching" foul in more than 10 years.

bob jenkins Thu Jan 15, 2015 12:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mikaryan (Post 950437)
However, and I'm guessing since I wasn't allowed to stand up and question,

It's a correctable error. You are allowed to stand to try to prevent / rectify that (you're supposed to ask the scorer to signal the referee and tehn have the discussion).

so cal lurker Thu Jan 15, 2015 12:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mikaryan (Post 950443)
Yes, common foul at mid court which put our team foul total to 6. Thanks for the reply.

His point was that there is no such thing as a "reaching foul." A player who reaches in may be guilty of a foul for making contact with the opponent, but the reach itself is not a foul. If you had referees who were actually calling "reaching" a foul when they reported to the scorers table, you had official with littleor no training. If so, it is not surprising that they would botch the enforcement here.

jTheUmp Thu Jan 15, 2015 01:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by so cal lurker (Post 950456)
If you had referees who were actually calling "reaching" a foul when they reported to the scorers table, you had official with little or no training. If so, it is not surprising that they would botch the enforcement here.

Or you've got a partner who just doesn't care to use correct terminology.

I actually had, very recently, in a varsity game, a partner who told players to "quit reaching"... and he's definitely not 'untrained'.

What age/level was this game?

Raymond Thu Jan 15, 2015 01:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 950450)
It's a correctable error. You are allowed to stand to try to prevent / rectify that (you're supposed to ask the scorer to signal the referee and tehn have the discussion).

This is the most important take away from this thread.

frezer11 Thu Jan 15, 2015 01:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mikaryan (Post 950437)
In our game last night one referee called a reaching foul on my player at mid-court which resulted in our 6th team foul. Before the opposing team
could inbound the ball at mid-court after the common foul, same referee called a technical foul on me. The opposing team was awarded 2 shots
for the technical. I assumed the opposing team would then take the ball out on the sideline.

However, and I'm guessing since I wasn't allowed to stand up and question, the referee in question then awarded a one and one to the opposing team's
player who was fouled at mid-court. After she shot the one and one, the opposing team was awarded possession on the sideline.

My question is how do you go back and penalize the 6th team foul with a one and one? The technical was a subsequent foul that had nothing to do with the common 6th foul. The opposing team was awarded 4 free throws and possession of the ball at a critical juncture of a close game.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 950439)
Assuming it played out as you indicate, the officials got it wrong.

It happens. It shouldn't, but it does. Are you sure they called a "reaching" foul?

I agree with Adam, assuming it happened the way you described. Because this is an officiating forum, I try to give the benefit of the doubt to the official. You're absolutely certain that the 1st foul was the 6th and not 7th? Sometimes the scoreboard is a little behind, so they could have been right and looked bad if the scoreboard didn't reflect this. Although even in this case they needed to shoot the 1-1 first...

mikaryan Thu Jan 15, 2015 01:18pm

Correct Application
 
Thank you.

mikaryan Thu Jan 15, 2015 01:20pm

High School Varsity. The terminology is my mistake. My player reached in and tapped the ball away cleanly but he called a foul. Not sure what he identified it as.

mikaryan Thu Jan 15, 2015 01:21pm

Absolutely positive on the foul situation.

Raymond Thu Jan 15, 2015 01:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mikaryan (Post 950466)
High School Varsity. The terminology is my mistake. My player reached in and tapped the ball away cleanly but he called a foul. Not sure what he identified it as.

In your opinion ;)

If you hadn't had said your player was called for a "reaching" foul, I'd have more confidence in your judgment. :D

Adam Thu Jan 15, 2015 02:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mikaryan (Post 950466)
High School Varsity. The terminology is my mistake. My player reached in and tapped the ball away cleanly but he called a foul. Not sure what he identified it as.

Welcome to the forum, coach.

mutantducky Thu Jan 15, 2015 02:30pm

so team A has 5 fouls, A1 fouls for the 6th foul and after a Tech is called. Team A should be shooting the T, not the bonus.

Same as above but let's say somehow there was a simultaneous foul and Tech on team A. Shoot the bonus here?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1