The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 04, 2015, 10:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Dixie
Posts: 71
When the ball is legally touched inbounds isn't the arrow required to be switched? I agree it is logical that a team is not allowed consecutive A/P throws in, but where may I find that reference?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 04, 2015, 11:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Whitten View Post
When the ball is legally touched inbounds isn't the arrow required to be switched? I agree it is logical that a team is not allowed consecutive A/P throws in, but where may I find that reference?
take a look at the actual play in the case book that Mark cited. 6.4.1 D. that is the reference. normally, you do change the arrow when the throw in legally touched/ends. however, usually the ball is given to the right team. here the arrow is pointing to A but you gave the ball to B. if you dont fix it before the throw in ends you have converted this AP throwin for A to one for B. the next one will go to A. the arrow is already pointing to A so you dont have to worry about changing it.

you can get that from reading the actual play.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 05, 2015, 12:09am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,977
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Whitten View Post
When the ball is legally touched inbounds isn't the arrow required to be switched? I agree it is logical that a team is not allowed consecutive A/P throws in, but where may I find that reference?
Yes, it's turned to the team that did not execute the last A.P. throw-in. So if the wrong team threw the ball in, then the arrow is placed towards the team that should have.

Do not overthink this.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 05, 2015, 12:47pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Whitten View Post
When the ball is legally touched inbounds isn't the arrow required to be switched? I agree it is logical that a team is not allowed consecutive A/P throws in, but where may I find that reference?
If A is entitled to a throw in and they never get it, you don't switch the arrow.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 05, 2015, 01:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,221
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
If A is entitled to a throw in and they never get it, you don't switch the arrow.
I agree -- but it is hard to prove it just from the rules.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 05, 2015, 01:04pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,977
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I agree -- but it is hard to prove it just from the rules.
There has to be a point when common sense sets in.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 05, 2015, 01:34pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
I also don't see where it specifically says that you give the ball to the team whose basket the arrow points to. Some things you just have to figure out. It does say that the arrow is reversed when an alternating possession throw-in ends. I submit that if the throw-in is made by the team not favored by the arrow, it is not an alternating possession throw-in. It is simply a mistake. Therefore the arrow will not be reversed.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 05, 2015, 02:31pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I agree -- but it is hard to prove it just from the rules.
Book isn't here, does the case play or interp address this?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 05, 2015, 02:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,221
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Book isn't here, does the case play or interp address this?
Yes, I think so.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 05, 2015, 02:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Book isn't here, does the case play or interp address this?
the case play does--6.4.1 sit D--ARROW MISTAKE

team Bs TURN for next AP throw in under the procedure. by mistake, team A is given that throw in. Team A (a) commits throw in violation.

Ruling --once the throw in ends-it is too late to change anything. In (a), the throw in ends when team A violates and results in a throw in for team B AS WELL AS THE ARROW FOR THE NEXT ALTERNATING POSSESSION.

(arrow remains with B)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 05, 2015, 07:24pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,160
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
First, we want to apply:

NHFS Casebook Play 6.4.1 Situation D(a): It is Team B's turn for the next throw-in under the alternation possession procedure. By mistake, Team A is given that throw-in. Team A commits a throw-in violation. RULING: Once the throw-in ends it is too late to change anything. The throw-in ends when Team A violates and results in a throw-in for Team B as well as the arrow for the next alternating possession.


Therefore, in the OP, the AP Throw-in ended when it was legally touched by B2. But Team A will retain the AP Arrow. And you can tell Team A's HC that his team is going to get two of the next three AP Arrows.

And Billy is probably correct. LOL!

There is something to be said to putting the Ball back into play with a Jump Ball, .

MTD, Sr.


P.S. The Caseball Play had Teams A and B reversed from the OP and I switched them around in my mind while composing my OP.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Yes, I think so.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
the case play does--6.4.1 sit D--ARROW MISTAKE

team Bs TURN for next AP throw in under the procedure. by mistake, team A is given that throw in. Team A (a) commits throw in violation.

Ruling --once the throw in ends-it is too late to change anything. In (a), the throw in ends when team A violates and results in a throw in for team B AS WELL AS THE ARROW FOR THE NEXT ALTERNATING POSSESSION.

(arrow remains with B)

See my OP in this thread (Post #4), I give the NFHS Casebook Play and it is applicable to NCAA Men's and Women's and I would guess since FIBA has gone to AP it would be a good guide line for FIBA.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Did Team A do anything wrong? Zoochy Basketball 27 Mon Mar 03, 2014 01:55pm
You put it down, wrong team picks it up BayStateRef Basketball 23 Wed Mar 25, 2009 03:57pm
Wrong team inbounds just another ref Basketball 18 Mon Jan 05, 2009 05:39pm
Ball to the wrong team jmaellis Basketball 9 Thu Jan 24, 2008 08:16am
Wrong team throws in ReadyToRef Basketball 1 Wed Apr 17, 2002 08:44am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1