![]() |
|
|
|||
Pelicans-Spurs last second tip in
Did anyone see the ending of regulation in this game? Lob to Duncan with 0.7 left. Lob is tipped in by defender, game goes to OT. Here's my question: the ball bounced around the rim for a bit before falling, such that the horn went off before the ball went through the hoop. Duncan never touched the ball. Seems to me the basket shouldn't have counted. A ball tipped in by a defender can obviously count for points, but it isn't technically a try, as it wasn't at their own teams basket. So shouldn't the basket be waved off? Thoughts?
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Under NBA rules it doesn't matter who tips it in...the only thing that would be reviewed would be whether that tip (either from A1 or B1) happened before the expiration of time.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
These two statements are contradictions. Who is right?
|
|
|||
APG always has NBA rules down cold.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Ye of little faith
![]()
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
You sure Duncan touched it at all? I only saw the replay once or twice, but it looked like he missed entirely. After the game when the reporters asked about it, he seemed to indicate that he knew he didn't touch it
|
|
|||
APG. It is a violation for a defender to attempt a field goal at an opponents basket so if Asik grabbed the ball and intentionally went up for a layup/dunk then the Spurs would get the ball, sideline at FTLE (NBA rule book page 21). However, "A field goal accidentally scored in an opponent’s basket shall be added to the opponent’s score, credited to the opposing player nearest the player whose actions caused the ball to enter the basket" (page 21), which makes this play legal. In the case of an accidental tip all that is required is to make sure the tip happened before the expiration of time (NBA case play 158).
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Refs Miss Spurs 6-on-5 Play In Final Seconds | Nevadaref | Basketball | 16 | Sun May 04, 2014 07:12pm |
Video Request:Spurs-Grizzlies End of 1st Quarter Foul on Half-Court Attempt (Clipped) | MathReferee | Basketball | 24 | Thu May 23, 2013 04:33pm |
Heel Spurs | refnrev | Basketball | 16 | Sat Apr 23, 2005 10:12pm |
Spurs - Knicks hilite | Hawks Coach | Basketball | 6 | Mon Feb 02, 2004 12:39pm |