Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283
The ball is not dead until the airborne shooter returns to the floor.
|
Not according to 4-19-1 . . . "A personal foul also includes contact by or on an airborne shooter when the ball is dead."
It is quite often the case that officials must judge contact by or on an airborne shooter, after the ball is dead, (as in, the ball already having passed through the basket). We consider such occurances to be an "exception" to the main portion of the rule.
I realize that it's considered to be semantics, by some, but the consequences of such an exception is the reason for the NOTE that acconpanies 4-19-1 . . . "Contact after the ball has become dead is incidental unless it is ruled intentional or flagrant or is committed by or on an airborne shooter."
And the reasoning for the NCAA restricted zone is partially due to the realities of such necceassary judgements.