The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 25, 2014, 10:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,241
FED: A PC foul is a common foul. A flagrant foul is NOT a common foul.

That should lead the OP to the correct answer.

(And the concept is the same for other levels)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 25, 2014, 10:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Yup. So for NFHS, procedure is:

1. Signal the foul and close down on the scene to prevent escalation or a fight. Then, if it's not 100% obvious, hold the closed fist foul signal and confer with your partners to confirm whether intentional/flagrant. If it is, give the crossed arms signal. If it was 100% obvious, you can give that signal right away. The crew should make a note of who B1 is so we get the shooter right; if you don't do this, since the procedure looks like a technical foul at first, the opposing coach might just send any old shooter to the line.

2. When reporting, there is no separate signal for flagrant, so announce it at the table, and then tell Coach A that A1 is disqualified for a flagrant foul. Start the 20 second replacement period and then get away from the table and let your partner(s) handle the rest; that's not the time for a discussion with the coach, cuz chances are he/she won't like you very much right then.

3. Since this occurred in A's backcourt, B1 (or his/her sub if B1 is injured and cannot shoot) will shoot 2 with the lane cleared under the same basket.

4. Then B gets a throw in at the spot nearest where the foul occurred, which sounds like it's under the basket on one side or the other.

I don't know as much about NCAA. This is probably a Flagrant 2 foul, but if you had a monitor I think you're required to go confirm that. Subsequent procedure is the same as NFHS for a Flagrant foul, I believe.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 26, 2014, 09:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by crosscountry55 View Post
Yup. So for NFHS, procedure is:

1. Signal the foul and close down on the scene to prevent escalation or a fight. Then, if it's not 100% obvious, hold the closed fist foul signal and confer with your partners to confirm whether intentional/flagrant. If it is, give the crossed arms signal.
A) I don't think you need to (or should) keep the fist up while you are conferring with your partner(s). By this time, everyone knows you have a foul.

B) BY NFHS mechanics, the "crossed arms" is only for an intentional foul. There is no signal for a flagrant foul. I do recognize that some areas have such a signal.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 26, 2014, 03:30pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,528
You Are Outta Here ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I do recognize that some areas have such a signal.


Link below: Earl Weaver at his best (or worst):

http://youtu.be/1JUlf_Ljzg8
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Dec 26, 2014 at 03:48pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 26, 2014, 06:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 70
Every case I have described in this thread is relevant to NFHS rules only
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 26, 2014, 07:05pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by kstiles99 View Post
Every case I have described in this thread is relevant to NFHS rules only
I only ask because in NFHS, flagrant is a disqualifying foul. Most likely, your OP would be an intentional foul unless you thought the player was trying to hurt his opponent.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 26, 2014, 09:19pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Smile

Be sure to take lessons from this guy if you're going to call intentional fouls.


__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 25, 2014, 11:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
FED: A PC foul is a common foul. A flagrant foul is NOT a common foul.

That should lead the OP to the correct answer.

(And the concept is the same for other levels)
What's your point? Are you saying we can't have a flagrant pc foul?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 25, 2014, 11:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 70
You mean it can only be a pc foul OR a flagrant foul? One or the other right? Because if it is flagrant.. It doesn't matter who is in control of the ball, the offended player/sub gets 2 shots and the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 25, 2014, 11:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by kstiles99 View Post
What's your point? Are you saying we can't have a flagrant pc foul?
Yes he is. The foul was on a player on the offense with control of the ball, this much is true. But that alone doesn't make it a PC foul because the resulting penalty enforcement for a Flagrant Foul is different. It's a definitions thing. The semantics matter, especially when taking a rules exam (every year a few T/F questions try to trip you up with along these lines, so read closely!).
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 25, 2014, 11:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by kstiles99 View Post
What's your point? Are you saying we can't have a flagrant pc foul?
That's exactly what he's saying. A PC foul is, by definition, a common foul. A flagrant foul is, by definition, NOT a common foul. Therefore, there can't be a "flagrant PC foul."
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 25, 2014, 11:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 70
I think I have it now. Tell me if this is right.

It can only be a pc foul OR an intentional/flagrant foul. One or the other right? Because if it is flagrant.. It doesn't matter who is in control of the ball, the offended player/sub gets 2 shots and the ball for an inbound

Last edited by kstiles99; Thu Dec 25, 2014 at 11:54pm.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 25, 2014, 11:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by kstiles99 View Post
I think I have it now. Tell me if this is right.

It can only be a pc foul OR a flagrant foul. One or the other right? Because if it is flagrant.. It doesn't matter who is in control of the ball, the offended player/sub gets 2 shots and the ball for an inbound
You're on the right track. In NFHS, it could also be an intentional foul, which is the same as flagrant minus the disqualification. That's a judgment on whether the contact was excessive versus savage/violent.

And to muddy the waters even more, if B1 were to retaliate and get a T, now your flagrant foul is part of a false double foul.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 25, 2014, 11:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by crosscountry55 View Post
You're on the right track. In NFHS, it could also be an intentional foul, which is the same as flagrant minus the disqualification. That's a judgment on whether the contact was excessive versus savage/violent.

And to muddy the waters even more, if B1 were to retaliate and get a T, now your flagrant foul is part of a false double foul.
Well let's see what we'd do if this happened.

I was always taught to shoot FTs in the order the fouls occurred.

This means B1 would shoot the flagrant FTs (unless the T was his second (or 5th personal) in which case his substitute would shoot)

Then A1s sub would shoot the technicals.

Now we give the ball to team A at the division line because of technical foul procedure.
Please tell me I got all of that
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 26, 2014, 01:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by kstiles99 View Post
Well let's see what we'd do if this happened.

I was always taught to shoot FTs in the order the fouls occurred.

This means B1 would shoot the flagrant FTs (unless the T was his second (or 5th personal) in which case his substitute would shoot)

Then A1s sub would shoot the technicals.

Now we give the ball to team A at the division line because of technical foul procedure.
Please tell me I got all of that
Almost. B1 would shoot two free throws unless he was injured as a result of the foul or was disqualified for whatever reason, in which case his substitute would shoot the FTs. If there is no substitute available, any teammate may shoot the FTs as selected by the captain or head coach. Then, since B1's foul is a technical foul, any eligible A team member may shoot the two FTs (or two different shooters if they want). Then A will get a throw-in at the division line.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tap situation Anchor Basketball 4 Fri Dec 11, 2009 11:31am
Another T situation fiasco Basketball 17 Tue Nov 18, 2008 02:50pm
What would you do in this situation? LLPA13UmpDan Baseball 36 Wed Oct 18, 2006 06:48am
Sad Sad Situation emaxos Softball 26 Fri Jul 09, 2004 04:03pm
DQ Situation Ron Basketball 4 Tue Nov 05, 2002 07:41am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1