![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
B) BY NFHS mechanics, the "crossed arms" is only for an intentional foul. There is no signal for a flagrant foul. I do recognize that some areas have such a signal. |
|
|||
You Are Outta Here ...
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Dec 26, 2014 at 03:48pm. |
|
|||
Careful. You could have an unsporting flagrant technical foul during a live ball. You could also have a flagrant personal foul on or by an airborne shooter while the ball is dead.
|
|
|||
Quote:
The ball is not dead until the airborne shooter returns to the floor. |
|
|||
Quote:
It is quite often the case that officials must judge contact by or on an airborne shooter, after the ball is dead, (as in, the ball already having passed through the basket). We consider such occurances to be an "exception" to the main portion of the rule. I realize that it's considered to be semantics, by some, but the consequences of such an exception is the reason for the NOTE that acconpanies 4-19-1 . . . "Contact after the ball has become dead is incidental unless it is ruled intentional or flagrant or is committed by or on an airborne shooter." And the reasoning for the NCAA restricted zone is partially due to the realities of such necceassary judgements.
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . . ![]() |
|
|||
Exception: (after 6-7-9)
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
||||
Doesn't apply to every airborne shooter, in fact, it doesn't apply to most situations where the ball would be dead anyway for a foul on an airborne shooter.
The exception reads: Quote:
If A1 dunks the ball and B1 pushes A2 out of frustration with a screen while A1 is on his way down, this would be a dead ball contact technical foul on B1. Otherwise, the note in 4-19-1 isn't necessary: Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Tap situation | Anchor | Basketball | 4 | Fri Dec 11, 2009 11:31am |
Another T situation | fiasco | Basketball | 17 | Tue Nov 18, 2008 02:50pm |
What would you do in this situation? | LLPA13UmpDan | Baseball | 36 | Wed Oct 18, 2006 06:48am |
Sad Sad Situation | emaxos | Softball | 26 | Fri Jul 09, 2004 04:03pm |
DQ Situation | Ron | Basketball | 4 | Tue Nov 05, 2002 07:41am |