The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2014, 08:35pm
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
If it is a true fumble then it's a no call. If you deem the player is purposely fumbling the ball then you can say there is control and call the travel.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2014, 09:25pm
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
A player can't travel if he/she isn't in control of the ball. And fumbling the ball, unless you judge it to be done intentionally, is not control.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2014, 09:35pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
And fumbling the ball, unless you judge it to be done intentionally, is not control.
Explain this please.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2014, 09:35pm
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Explain this please.
Like Amenred just said... "If you deem the player is purposely fumbling the ball then you can say there is control and call the travel."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2014, 09:42pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
If you mean the player who jumps up in the air, has no place to go, then "accidentally" drops the ball, yeah. Other than that, I still don't see a travel call.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2014, 09:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PG County, MD
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
Like Amenred just said... "If you deem the player is purposely fumbling the ball then you can say there is control and call the travel."
By rule, a fumble is an accidental act ...

4-21
A fumble is the accidental loss of player control when the ball unintentionally drops or slips from a player's grasp.
__________________
You learn something new everyday ...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2014, 09:50pm
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by PG_Ref View Post
By rule, a fumble is an accidental act ...

4-21
A fumble is the accidental loss of player control when the ball unintentionally drops or slips from a player's grasp.
Thank you for clearing that up.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2014, 09:46pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Explain this please.
If he's purposefully "bobbling" the ball, you have a dribble that violates 4-15-2.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2014, 10:09pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
If he's purposefully "bobbling" the ball, you have a dribble that violates 4-15-2.
Which is not a travel, which was my point.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2014, 10:28pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Which is not a travel, which was my point.
Ok, illegal dribble, still a violation.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2014, 10:34pm
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Ok, illegal dribble, still a violation.
Wouldn't an illegal dribble indicate that there was one dribble that ended? "A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of..."

In the OP the player never dribbled. So if the player intentionally batted the ball in the air (had control) and moved his pivot foot isn't this a travel?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2014, 10:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
If he's purposefully "bobbling" the ball, you have a dribble that violates 4-15-2.
this section would not apply unless it happened "during the dribble." if you pass it to me and i bobble it down the floor on purpose, never pushing or batting the ball to the floor, this section doesnt apply.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 18, 2014, 11:29am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
this section would not apply unless it happened "during the dribble." if you pass it to me and i bobble it down the floor on purpose, never pushing or batting the ball to the floor, this section doesnt apply.
Sure it does. 1. It's an advantage not intended by the rules. 2. It's actually against the dribbling rule.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 18, 2014, 11:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Sure it does. 1. It's an advantage not intended by the rules. 2. It's actually against the dribbling rule.
I'm sorry, i disagree completely. 4-15-2 says "during a dribble" --definition of dribble as you know says intentionally bat or push ball to floor….

for this section to apply i first have to bat or push ball to the floor. if, after that, i push it out in front of me and run and touch it again before it touches floor i have violated this section. in my example and the op a player started bobbling on receipt of a pass. he never started a dribble…the ball has never hit the floor. it simply cannot be "during a dribble" which is required before this section applies.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2014, 10:33pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
If it is a true fumble then it's a no call. If you deem the player is purposely fumbling the ball then you can say there is control and call the travel.

Do not even try that argument with me. Either A2 had gained control of the ball or he has not.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Pinch the Paint" or "Stay Wide"? Freddy Basketball 10 Tue Apr 30, 2013 09:19am
NHSF "intentional" vs NCAA "flagarent" terminology Duffman Basketball 17 Wed Feb 08, 2012 10:15pm
Is "the patient whistle" and "possession consequence" ruining the game? fiasco Basketball 46 Fri Dec 02, 2011 08:43am
OT: Calling the official a "hater" and "loser" bainsey Basketball 35 Wed Sep 14, 2011 03:53pm
ABC's "Nightline" examines "worst calls ever" tonight pizanno Basketball 27 Fri Jul 04, 2008 06:08am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1