![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Bob: Per NFHS R9-S9-A3 and NFHS Casebook Play 9.9.1 Situation B(a) the play in the OP is a violation. R9-S9-A3: During a jump ball, throw-in or while on defense, a player may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt. Casebook Play 9.9.1 Situation B: During a jump ball, A1 taps the ball. A2 takes off from Team A's frontcourt and catches the ball while in the air. A2 lands with: (a) both feet in frontcourt and then steps to backcourt with one foot; (b) one foot in backcourt and one in the frontcourt; or (c) both feet in the backcourt. RULING: Team control is not established until A2 catches the ball. Violation in (a). Legal in (b) and (c). (4-12-6; 9-9-3) A2's landed with both feet in Team A's Front Court. Per rule, landing with both feet in the Front Court does not meet the exception that the rule describes. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Going to the 'toes'. | bseybs32 | Basketball | 26 | Fri Feb 04, 2011 10:02am |
Just the toes or the whole foot? | Adam | Football | 13 | Thu Oct 11, 2007 08:33am |
Steppin on toes | chris s | Baseball | 33 | Mon Apr 19, 2004 02:36pm |
Girls ball--gotta be on your toes | Back In The Saddle | Basketball | 52 | Sun Sep 28, 2003 05:28pm |
Brad is on his toes. | mick | Basketball | 3 | Tue Sep 03, 2002 03:43am |