![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Bob: Per NFHS R9-S9-A3 and NFHS Casebook Play 9.9.1 Situation B(a) the play in the OP is a violation. R9-S9-A3: During a jump ball, throw-in or while on defense, a player may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt. Casebook Play 9.9.1 Situation B: During a jump ball, A1 taps the ball. A2 takes off from Team A's frontcourt and catches the ball while in the air. A2 lands with: (a) both feet in frontcourt and then steps to backcourt with one foot; (b) one foot in backcourt and one in the frontcourt; or (c) both feet in the backcourt. RULING: Team control is not established until A2 catches the ball. Violation in (a). Legal in (b) and (c). (4-12-6; 9-9-3) A2's landed with both feet in Team A's Front Court. Per rule, landing with both feet in the Front Court does not meet the exception that the rule describes. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
Quote:
Last edited by Coach Bill; Sun Dec 14, 2014 at 01:28am. |
|
|||
Quote:
That makes the call even easier: Backcourt Violation. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
On an out-of-bounds play, you can't jump from your backcourt, catch the ball in the air and land on midcourt line with both feet?
|
|
|||
Quote:
Why can't you land on the Division Line? There is not Mid-Court Line. In the Ancient Days there use to be a Mid-Court Area in the Front Court. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
Before The Frontcourt Got Circumcised ...
Misty water-colored memories. Frontcourt divided into a midcourt, and a forecourt. Closely guarded dribbler got a new count as he dribbled forward over the midcourt line, designated by a 28 foot hash mark, that we still see on some very old courts. It was legally possible for a closely guarded ball handler to possess the ball for sixteen seconds; holding, dribbling in the midcourt (dribble past the midcourt line), dribbling in the front court, and holding (four seconds each).
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Quote:
Coach: My post which your are quoting is in response to Bob Jenkins post which said that it would not be a BC Violation if A2 had caught the ball while in the air, and not to the OP. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
Quote:
"Per NFHS R9-S9-A3 and NFHS Casebook Play 9.9.1 Situation B(a) the play in the OP is a violation." The OP doesn't mention a jump or if there was one, where it originated. |
|
|||
Quote:
If A2 jumps, then it doesn't matter whether it originates from the FC or the BC. |
|
|||
So, just to be clear, if you jump from the backcourt, secure the ball in the air, and land with both feet on the "division line", it's a violation? That doesn't make sense.
|
|
|||
No. On a throw-in pass if the player leaps in the air he can land anywhere without violation. The only question in the OP is how long does a landing take? If he lands on his toes in the frontcourt, then sees the line and teeters there for a significant length of time before putting his heels down on the line would we call a violation? I'm gonna wait until that happens, then decide. But if he catches the pass in the air and lands on his toes first followed by his heels touching the line all in one smooth "natural" landing, I've got nothing.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
And, if it's a throw-in (as the OP), or a pass from the BC, it's not a violation. If it's a pass from the FC, then it's a violation before the player even lands. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Going to the 'toes'. | bseybs32 | Basketball | 26 | Fri Feb 04, 2011 10:02am |
Just the toes or the whole foot? | Adam | Football | 13 | Thu Oct 11, 2007 08:33am |
Steppin on toes | chris s | Baseball | 33 | Mon Apr 19, 2004 02:36pm |
Girls ball--gotta be on your toes | Back In The Saddle | Basketball | 52 | Sun Sep 28, 2003 05:28pm |
Brad is on his toes. | mick | Basketball | 3 | Tue Sep 03, 2002 03:43am |